Skip to content

An update

September 10, 2012

Lately I’ve been scouring the internet for expat blogs, specifically blogs of people living in Russia, and have been finding one after another! They all have lots of helpful advice, and really, I feel like I’ve discovered a gold mine in them. It’s so nice to be able to read others’ accounts of various aspects of life in another country.  I want to be as prepared as I can be when I go. I know, however, that some things you just have to experience for yourself to really learn/grasp/fully understand.

I thought about heading down to the DMV every day just to get a feel for the frustrations of Russian bureaucracy  but I am sure that really wouldn’t do justice to the technicalities, frustrations, and headaches of all the red tape over in Russia. And the DMV is like the worst we have to offer, ha. We have it so easy here!

But it has been so nice to read each person’s account of what life is like over there. It really helps. Travel today, in any aspect, must be a 100 times easier than it used to be even just 20 years ago. I have no comparison, but I can’t imagine doing all the travel that I have done without the help of the internet. It really is a blessing!

I still have lots to do to prepare (this just added to the list: figure out California tax laws, ugh. =/ Naturally Cali would have stricter laws about still getting their share of my money no matter where I live) , but I am sure things will fall into place as it gets closer. Eek, can’t wait!

Ira has been coming by less frequently now that school has started, and her work schedule has changed, but she stopped by on Friday and was able to answer my question as to the difference between где and куда. =) (Both meaning “where” but being used in different contexts) I am slowly plodding along with words or phrases, but it’s so nice to have a Russian speaker to explain things to me and help me with pronunciation! Even if I forget half of what she says, ha.

Happy Monday. =)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2012 6:35 am

    Ugh DMV….however, the DMV here is surprisingly low fuss. At least the longest I’ve ever had to wait is 30 minutes…which is so “short” compared to my previous experiences. Seriously, when I got my license renewed, it took a total of 9 minutes. I walked in, and walked out with new license in hand. Can’t better than that. So, I guess for me that wasn’t a great comparison. 🙂 However, I do remember the DMV junk from back home…so I do know what you’re talking about. lol

    • September 11, 2012 8:17 am

      haha, like the DMV in Wisconsin! I could NOT believe it when I walked inside! That was THE weirdest DMV visit ever, but super easy. I was like “now I KNOW I moved to a small town” lol =) California needs DMVs like that!

Leave a Reply

