Skip to content

My top 10

August 29, 2012

I get this question all the time: ‘What’s your favorite place out of all of the places you’ve been?’

If you know me, you know I have a really hard time picking favorites. For anything. I think I can count on one hand my truly favorite things. The rest are all just too close to choose.

My favorite friend: Rebekah, of course. =)

My favorite food: Mexican (with extra guacamole)

My favorite color: Green

My favorite city: London

Annnd, that’s about it as far as nailing down favorites.

So this question is always really hard to answer. I mean, I love London for so many reasons. But there are also a lot of other places that I really loved as well for different reasons.

So I decided to choose my top 10 places. These are places that I would go back to in a heartbeat, places that I could see myself living someday. Other places, such as Cairo, were fascinating, but not necessarily places I’d go back to.

1. The UK. Not just England and not just London, but the whole of the UK is a magical and fascinating place. I totally fell in love with it the moment I stepped out of the airport.

2. Italy. Definitely one of my most favorite places. For so, so many reasons. I could live in Italy. In fact, after my last trip there I decided I wanted to learn Italian. That was of course before I started learning Russian and my brain can barely handle one language right now.

3. Switzerland. Hands down one of the absolutely cutest and greenest places I have ever been. Switzerland reminded me of being in a fairy tale story book. And the chocolate and dairy were both pretty amazing as well!

4. Austria. I definitely have not spent enough time here. Hopefully someday soon I will get a chance to go back and see Vienna and Salzburg!

5. Greece. There were so many amazing places that we visited in Greece. The history alone is simply overwhelming. Just to see Athens and Mars’ Hill, and the Acropolis was fascinating. But then there were so many gorgeous beach towns as well. All of Greece is amazing, if you get the chance you must go.

6. St. John, USVI. St. John is easily the prettiest island I have ever been to. The water was amazing.

7. California’s central coast.love California’s central coast. There are so many cute little towns up there. And the views are gorgeous!

8. New England. I am not kidding when I say that come fall each year I wish I lived in New England. Seriously!!!

9. Petra, Jordan. Okay, this is the only place on the list that I actually can’t see myself living in. But I’d definitely go back in a heartbeat. Hands down one of the most amazing places I have ever been.

10. Germany. Germany is gorgeous (especially the Bavarian Alps!) Not to mention the fact that there are castles everywhere and that the sweets and baked goods are pretty amazing!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 12:19 pm

    Sigh. They all sound lovely. 🙂 And the pictures are marvelous!

    • August 29, 2012 12:26 pm

      They ARE lovely 😉 And I’ve heard that St. Petersburg is marvelous too, so…you and me…we need to go. ;P

  2. August 29, 2012 3:07 pm

    Can’t disagree with any of these choices. What a beautiful world we live in! Wonderful photos Jen.

    • August 30, 2012 11:34 am

      Yes, we do indeed live in a beautiful world! I’m constantly in awe of it.

Leave a Reply

