Skip to content

Blessings

August 22, 2012

It’s late. I’m sleepy. And it’s been a long, busy day. But I keep getting farther behind in blogging, so..here goes. =)

Work was a bit chaotic today, what with a bunch of us switching desks, but not really being able to start moving until the desk we were moving to was cleared off, but then that person couldn’t clear off the desk until they could move….etc. And then we had to wait for the movers. And then for the IT guys to move our computers. I don’t think they have moved our telephone lines yet, so I wonder how long we will be answering calls meant for others. Anyhow…it was a “hurry up and wait” kind of day.

After work, grocery shopping, making and cleaning up from dinner, I realized the Giants game was on tv so went and watched the end of that game and watched the Giants finish up a sweep of LA. Pretty sweet.

But the best news of the day came during the game as I mentioned a prayer request to my dad (on behalf of a bus mom who had asked me to pray for her) and he mentioned that someone had called the church today with the very answer to her specific request! I was so excited, I wanted to call her right then! But it was late, and I don’t think I have a phone number for her. Can’t wait to see her though and tell her. It’s always so exciting to see how God works and provides! Especially when He provides exactly what we were asking for!

I mentioned earlier about moving to Russia sometime and that is also an answer to prayer. I wasn’t exactly asking to move to Russia, but I was asking for an adventure, something new, and this is certainly that! I will be leaving for Moscow at the end of January and am so excited. I will be teaching (tutoring really, I think) English and living with/renting from our missionaries out there.

For the longest time I have wanted to experience living abroad, getting to do a bit of local travel, and helping out missionaries. I had started saving up money so that I could maybe someday quit my job and go help missionaries on a short term basis if the opportunity ever arose. So when this opportunity came up, it was perfect. And with working over there, I can pay all my expenses in the country plus hopefully have money to do some traveling. Such a blessing!

I really wanted to write a long, detailed post about it all, but I know that’s not going to happen with how crazy busy life has been lately. I know things are not going to slow down at all between now and January (lots to do to get ready) so…I am not even going to bother trying to write long posts. Perhaps when I am in Moscow I will get a chance to do more “real” blogging. Ha. =)

Today was so busy that I didn’t even get a chance to add any Russian words to my vocabulary. (Trying to add new words daily so that I have a small repertoire when I get over there) But…tomorrow is a new day! Ooh, and did I mention that we had a Russian girl (teenager) over for lunch on Sunday? (Probably not since I haven’t mentioned much of anything on here in forever). She was so sweet, and it was great to practice a few Russian words on her! She’s headed back to Moscow in a few days, and we exchanged contact info so that we can meet up again when I get over there. I am hoping I can get her to come with me to the Reasoners’ church. She told me she’s never been to St. Petersburg and since I want to go she said maybe we can go together. (yay for a translator, haha)

All for now, до свидания,

Jen

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 10:19 am

    Loved the update. 🙂

Leave a Reply

