Skip to content

Jamaica – the scenic side

August 8, 2012

While in Jamaica we spent a lot of time at the beach, way more than I’d have thought we would be able to. I guess having the beach about 15 minutes from your house (if that) really helps. (I could see the sea out the window while taking a shower, so maybe it was closer than that, I really didn’t pay much attention – since my cell was never on I never knew what time it was or how long anything took.)

We went to the beach at some point every single day, except for one (only the guys went that day), and then one day we took small fishing boats out a ways and went snorkeling. I got way too much sun that day, and came home with a nice burn (thanks to a LOT of aloe vera it has mostly turned into a tan now instead) We also went up to Mystic Mountain in Ocho Rios one day as well to go bobsledding and zip lining. Thankfully (and I’m assuming it was planned this way) there were no cruise ships in port that day. (I’ve read that you can spend hours in line for each attraction when ships are in port) Zip lining was a lot of fun, and some of us even tried zip lining upside down like our guide was doing! That was fun. The vertical drop was a little scary – I hate drops – but it was only about a 60 ft drop I think, so it was over fast.

Every day was a full day – more so I think than any other missions trip I have been on. We didn’t have too much down time, except in the evenings when we’d all be back at the house for dinner, devos, and then showers. (24 people sharing 4 showers, which really wasn’t that bad – I think the fact that the water was cold helped people take faster showers! =) ).

We really had a great time, and had lots of time to enjoy the beautiful scenery around the island. I think St. John still wins in my book as far as the prettiest island I have visited to date, but Jamaica is definitely beautiful and they do a good job of keeping up the tourist areas. I was surprised at how clean the island appeared, and was told that they only do that for tourists. When we were in the Falmouth area you could definitely tell it was much more run down and dirty.

Here are some scenery shots from around the Montego Bay/Ocho Rios areas:

Views from where we ate lunch one day – you’d pay a LOT in the states for a view like this!

This tiny plant growing on the beach reminded me of a mini palm tree =)

The beach that we always had to ourselves each day

A dead sand shark

The girls attempting to build a sand castle

Pretty sunset one evening

This really isn’t a black and white picture

Watching sunsets from the roof each evening reminded me of being in India and watching sunrises/sunsets from the roof

Watching as the sun slowly sank “into the sea”

One of the fishing boats we used to go snorkeling one day =)

The beaches we went to were close to the airport so it was fun to watch the low flying planes overhead

Kinda gross I guess, but I liked the color =)

Pretty waterfall at Mystic Mountain in Ocho Rios

Awesome old silk tree at Mystic Mountain

The oldest church in Jamaica (in Falmouth)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2012 9:55 am

    Every year at camp, I get to go ziplining and I LOVE it. I go upside down every time. 🙂 Of course, that ziplining course was probably way better! 🙂 I love that “White Girl” boat. Too funny. And of course, the pics are gorgeous!

    • August 8, 2012 11:10 am

      Oh that’s cool. The only zip line I had ever been on was the one up at the Greeley Hills camp. Oh and one on the beach by Tonia’s house, but both of those are fairly short. I had never thought of going upside down before, but it was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

