Skip to content

Jamaica

August 7, 2012

A few scenic highlights * I’ll post some more scenery pics later.

Random tidbits from our trip:

  1. I really, really like the John Wayne/Orange County/Santa Ana airport (seriously, how many names does an airport need?)  It was very empty and fairly small, both of which I liked. Not to mention getting there was pretty easy/fast. (Ontario is still my fave, but it’s nice to know there are other good options besides LAX.) I had never flown into or out of that airport before. And also, it has a Pinkberry! =)
  2. A while back I realized that for some odd reason I don’t usually get very many mosquito bites. Hence, I didn’t even pack bug spray on this trip. I did use my brother’s spray once when we went night snorkeling, just because he said there were lots of mosquitoes out. And I did get one bite on the trip when I sat outside at dusk to do my devotions. (Compared to the 20s/30s that the other girls were counting. Seriously.) The others counted bug bites and I counted bruises! =/ (The cots we had in our room were knee height and I was constantly bumping them. 10 bruises around my knees by the end of the trip.
  3. The missionary called me “Brave” the entire trip, even asking locals if they’d seen the movie and then telling them that the movie was made about me, ha. (for the record, the redheaded main character is named “Merida” and to answer the ubiquitous question, no I have not seen it)
  4. I attempted – unsuccessfully –  to snorkel while in Fiji and while in Maui, and can finally now say I was able to see underwater sea life/coral in Jamaica even if my “snorkeling” is a bit unconventional 😉 (It’s a rough life being claustrophobic, ha! But now that I know what works for me, I think I can do this again) Oh, and it was beautiful down there!
  5. There have been many times that I have taken 2 showers in one day. Indeed the entire trip I took 2 showers a day. But one day over there I took three showers. Pretty sure that’s a new record for me. (And they were cold showers, too.  Cold showers are certainly easier to take when you are in a hot, humid climate, but…they are still cold! =) )
  6. I learned that it’s always important to enter your frequent flier number ahead of time for a flight – even if it’s for a partner airline! (As opposed to entering it after the flight to get your reward miles). I hadn’t realized that my Premier Silver status with United equaled Silver status on partner airlines, until I was checking in at US Airways’ counter and was told that I got free bags! Round trip that saved me $50.00. Later I logged in to my United account and noticed that it indeed does say Silver status for Star Alliance partners, yay! I always love free!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2012 12:21 pm

    I also like the John Wayne airport. Things just don’t feel as rushed there. 🙂 So, did any of the locals ask for your autograph after hearing you were the inspiration for “Brave?” 😉

    • August 7, 2012 4:12 pm

      Haha I would always start laughing when he’d tell them that, so I am pretty sure they knew it wasn’t true. =)

Leave a Reply

