Skip to content

You only get one chance at life

July 10, 2012

I was just sitting here getting ready to read my Bible and listening to some music when this song (below) started playing and I just love the words so much. The reminder was just what I needed right now, too! I don’t want to live a wasted life. I want to live a full life, with no regrets. We only get one chance at life. Are we really making the most of it? Are we capturing all those moments and living them to the fullest? Are we doing things that really matter? Or are we just living to “get ahead”? I hope I can always say I am doing my best with each moment. I know that’s often not the case, sadly, but I want it to be. And I love listening to music like this that encourages me and reminds me to step out of my comfort zone, and live the life that God has for me, wherever that is.

Redeem the Time

“Another day of life was spent, and as I wondered where it went, I watched the sands of time slip fast away,

And as i thought about my life, what had i really done for Christ? I’d lost so many hours I can’t reclaim.

And as I bowed my head in deep despair and cried out to the Lord in prayer, I heard a still small voice whisper this refrain,

Redeem the time, for soon it will be gone, redeem the time, for life is not so long, don’t let the moments spent down here become a tale of wasted years, remember that your days are like a passing glance, you only get one chance, redeem the time.

As the days of life go quickly by, the seconds pass, the moments fly, what are we really giving to the Lord?

Our years are like a passing wind, they go and never come again, to waste a single hour, we can’t afford, so teach us Lord to count our days, to see  them as a gift of grace, remind us of this truth taught in your Holy Word,

Redeem the time, for soon it will be gone, redeem the time, for life is not so long, don’t let the moments spent down here, become a tale of wasted years, remember that your days are like a passing glance, you only get one chance, redeem the time,

Don’t let the moments spent down here, become a tale of wasted years, remember that your days are like a passing glance, you only get one chance, you only get one chance at life, you only get one chance, redeem the time.”

~ David Smallwood

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ivy Abesamis permalink
    August 23, 2015 3:42 am

    hello sir. My Pastor sang this song one Sunday, and the words really struck my heart! I’ve listened to this song countless times since. I’d love to be able to pass this message to my church family where I live now. Am I able to ask for sheet music with a please and cherry on the top?? I’d appreciate that greatly! thank you for sharing God’s Word and may His blessing abound in your life.

    • Ivy Abesamis permalink
      August 23, 2015 4:30 am

      please excuse this comment =/ was multitasking and got mixed up and thought i was on David Smallwood’s website

Leave a Reply

