Skip to content

St. Thomas and St. John

May 18, 2012

Hey friends, I am still alive! Been keeping way too busy lately, but finally getting the chance to post my last Caribbean cruise post! Whew, it feels good to have just finished wading through all of those pictures. As I looked through them just now and tried to pick only a few pictures (so hard for me to choose!), I decided that I will definitely go back someday. I knew the Virgin Islands were pretty, but I had no idea they were that pretty. Next time I will head over to the British Virgin Islands as well, I think.

Anyways, I just got on Tuesday from being in Delaware and Washington D.C. with friends over the weekend, so hopefully I will get a chance to put up some pictures from that trip as well before I leave next Tuesday to go watch my brother graduate from The United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs!

About St. Thomas and St. John: We discovered that for 12.00 round trip you can take the ferry from St. Thomas  over to Cruz Bay, St. John (and similarly for about 16.0o you can take the ferry from St. Thomas to Tortola, BVI.) I am so glad we decided to do that, because St. John was simply amazing. The water was crystal clear, as well as deep blue and turquoise. I couldn’t believe it was real. We hired a taxi for 20.o0 each and took a tour around the island, stopping at a few beautiful beaches and scenic overlooks before heading back to Cruz Bay to catch the ferry back to St. Thomas. We realized after getting back to the ferry that we were running out of cash and so called our original taxi driver (who had arranged to come back and pick us up and drive us to the port) to let him know we weren’t going to be able to have him pick us up after all since we were running out of money! He told us not to worry, that there was a shuttle we could take for 2.00 that would get us back to the port! And thankfully he was right. Even though the local taxi drivers at the ferry terminal tried to tell us there was no shuttle, we spotted it in the distance and were able to get on in time before it drove away. It was definitely a local shuttle and not a tourist shuttle, so that added to the excitement. We got to drive all over the island, stopping at random places to drop off people seemingly in the middle of nowhere, before finally arriving back at port. After a lunch back on board, we headed out once more to do some shopping at the local shopping stands before calling it a day.

I would definitely recommend a visit to St. Thomas and St. John! =)

A few pictures:

At port in Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas

Cruz Bay, St. John

The ferry in the upper right

Trying to take a picture of the clear water

I found this license plate interesting – especially the two people on stilts…

Looking out at some of the other islands

All of that sand is covered with water!

Looking through the trees

Trunk Bay, St. John

I love the fronds on these palm trees!

Cinnamon Bay Beach, St. John

In front of the famous Trunk Bay Beach


This little sailboat made me smile =)

Cruz Bay

I wish this was the view out MY window each day! =)

These boxes labeled “keep refrigerated” sitting out in the hot sun made me smile too =)

Awesome view of the clouds, sun and palm trees on the way back to our ship

Our ship

This made me smile too =)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2012 7:12 pm

    I love St. Thomas! I hope i get to go again one day, great pictures!

  2. May 19, 2012 10:02 am

    Love your pictures, especially of St John. Looks like you were on a cruise ship so your stay on St John was way too short. Taking a taxi tour was a good idea but you have to come back again so you can explore the whole island. We have over 30 beaches and great nooks and crannies. With 2/3’s of the island protected by being part of the US National Park system it (and its waters) will be forever protected. Pretty cool.

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      May 19, 2012 1:28 pm

      YES, my visit WAS way too short! I definitely want to come back sometime soon! =)

  3. aleassa permalink
    May 20, 2012 10:41 am

    Gorgeous pictures as always! You are very blessed!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      May 21, 2012 11:20 am

      Thanks, yes, I am blessed!

  4. May 21, 2012 8:38 am

    Wow…good job trying to photograph how clear the water was! Those pictures were amazing! I’m in shock at how clear it looks in the pics. I can’t imagine it in person. 🙂

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      May 21, 2012 11:20 am

      It was so amazing! You’ll have to go someday =)

Leave a Reply

