Skip to content

Dying Blooms

April 21, 2012

Forgive my interrupting the travel series here, but in the busyness of the week I neglected to go photograph my mom’s tulips as I had planned, and today I noticed that they are fading fast, so figured I had better get a few shots before all of the petals are gone.

love photographing flowers for a few reasons. I love the fact that they are so colorful, and they often have translucent petals that are great for photographing in different light. Plus, when the flowers are in vases it’s even better because you can move the flowers wherever you’d like, to catch the light in different ways. I carried this vase around a bit, and ended up taking most of the pictures in front of my mom’s window since I liked the light, as well as the blurred lamp in the background.

I had a hard time deciding on favorites, the pictures below are only a few of my favorites. I loved all the pastels in these flowers, they reminded me of Easter.

I promise I will get back to posting about the cruise in a few days!

I love the weird lighting in this one and how the bottom of the flower looks like it's been dusted with fairy dust. Love it!

Same for this one!

Look at all that pollen!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2012 1:15 pm

    You do it so beautifully.

  2. April 23, 2012 8:36 am

    These are so gorgeous!

  3. April 24, 2012 6:23 pm

    Good grief, those are beautiful! Tulips are my favorite flower anyway, but tulips with fairy dust? Awesome!

Leave a Reply

