Skip to content

Randomness…

February 11, 2012

Soooo….it’s been a busy week. Which is why nothing has been updated here.
We had nightly revival meetings at church this week which meant running home from work, making dinner, eating, changing and heading in to church. It was a fun week, and every night was a blessing, but it sure made the week fly by! Tuesday night I was in the 4s and 5s class – which  has become my new favorite class! It started a few weeks ago when I helped one of our teen girls sub since the teachers didn’t show up. And I was blown away by how much I liked being in there. 2s and 3s has been “my” class for forever. I think it was my first year of college that Rebekah and I started working in there and even when I moved to Wisconsin I “taught” 2s and 3s (they actually had quite the program that I was supposed to follow – this all coming from a printed Sunday School program – right down to what snacks were to be served – which I didn’t serve due to the fact that one kid had severe food allergies)
I don’t know why I didn’t ever think of doing 4s and 5s. It’s my favorite age group just grown up a little. =) And able to go to the bathroom – mostly – by themselves! And also able to have even funnier conversations than before. Anyways, so even though I was sad to miss the service, at least they have closed circuit tvs in the classes now so I was able to catch snippets of the service. Not as much as I would have liked, but those kids were loud. At one point I put chairs in front of the tv and tried to get them to watch a few minutes with me. One of the girls promptly got up and walked as close as she could and watched for a few seconds before coming back to me with a worried look on her face, “he can’t hear?” she asked of the speaker who was wearing an ear microphone (whatever it’s really called, I forget). Then they all thought it was funny to start asking other questions such as “he can’t walk?”
Earlier in the service when a group got up to sing, one of the boys squealed “that’s my daddy!” So when my dad got up to introduce the speaker, I said “that’s my daddy” much to the surprise of the kids. One boy asked “why he’s your daddy?” And then “are you a grown up?”
Earlier on Tuesday I had gotten off work early since one of our teen girls had wanted me to come to her basketball game. So I went and watched San Dimas’ freshman/sophomore team beat Covina’s, 16-15! It actually got pretty intense the last few minutes of the game. =)
But getting off early meant having to come in on Saturday to make up time. Which is where I am now – just taking a little break! =) In a few hours I’ll be off running over to the church for a jr. high activity. I am determined this year to remember to bring a Bible and a calculator – we need all the help we can get!!!

A few random things:

* Less than 8 weeks till my trip
* In case anyone is wondering, the “new, save every penny Jen” won out over the “old, spend every penny Jen” and I went and returned some of my picture frames to Kohl’s…=)
* And, I have discovered a new addiction – Menchies. Dare I say I like it better than Pinkberry? I think I just might! Mud pie, dulce de leche, coconut, cheesecake…they actually have some really good flavors. It’s a “swirl your own” place, which I normally avoid, but it’s actually nice and creamy and not watery and icy. Pretty addicting – too bad it’s not closer to work or my house. =P Maybe though that’s a good thing… If you feel the need for some yummy frozen yogurt go check them out. On Barranca next to Eastland Mall. =) Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 9:54 am

    Aww…2s and 3s and 4s and 5s. Great memories of that 2s and 3s class.

    Good job on returning those pic frames. I’m so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

