Skip to content

The Ring

February 2, 2012

No, not that kind of ring. I am not getting married.
This ring:

When I travel I don’t usually buy touristy trinkets and such. But I do like to pick up two kinds of things: random food items that either strike me as funny or unusual or delicious looking and either some locally made item that I know I’ll put on display in my house one day, or an item I will use/wear every day. Things that make me smile and remember fun memories about my trip.

There are three rings I wear every day. For years I wore two rings on each hand. Until I had two guys within the space of one week ask me if I was either married or dating someone. When I said no, they pointed out the silver ring I wore on my ring finger and said that was why they had thought that. So I stopped wearing it, ha. But I digress.

Now I wear 3 rings. 2 of which I picked up on a street in Edinburgh, Scotland near the castle:

And this one that I picked up in Alaska. Girdwood, Alaska to be exact.


The city that I came real close to making my permanent residence. And buying this ring helped almost facilitate that. (Sort of – basically our driver almost left us since we weren’t back at the car when he said we should be, even though there is a perfectly logical explanation but I will spare you all of that)

I love, love the ring – so glad I was able to buy it and make it safely back to live in sunny, warm So Cal. (have you seen the weather reports for Alaska lately??? )

Anyways…these three rings make me smile because A) I like them and B) they have fun trip memories associated with them. =)

There is also another trip ring that makes me smile but I don’t wear it very often:

From the original Swarovski store in Innsbruck, Austria. Austria is definitely a place I will visit again someday!

A few more pics from my impromptu ring photo session 😉 (Because goodness knows your day would not be complete without looking at 500 ring pictures!!) :

One of the Scotland rings

Both of the Scotland rings

Again


All three =)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 9:29 am

    I love those rings. Next time you buy one for yourself (similar to those above), think of me. 🙂 That’s the souvenir I want! I REALLY like the one from Alaska. 🙂 The 2 rings I wear on my right hand are both from the NBS store in Montclair. Pretty sure I bought them either late H.S. or early college! Anyways… 🙂 Like your rings.

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      February 2, 2012 9:34 am

      The Alaska one is my fave too! Okay, you’ll have to send me your ring size! =)

  2. Krystal Chen permalink
    February 2, 2012 4:55 pm

    Ohh, love the ring photo shoot. It made me smile for some reason. Haha, also makes me want to travel somewhere and purchase a new ring!! :]

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      February 2, 2012 9:52 pm

      Glad it made you smile. =) Hope you get to travel someplace fun and get a new ring! =)

  3. February 19, 2012 1:46 pm

    i love the pictures!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

