Skip to content

This morning’s sunrise

January 27, 2012

This morning I woke up to the most amazing sunrise I think I have ever seen. That’s not to say it was the most amazing ever, just that I have seen.
I am more of a sunset person than a sunrise person. This may be due in part to the fact that sunsets happen at a much more reasonable hour of the day than do sunrises.
Or it may be due to the fact that I have seen enough disappointing sunrises in my time to know that it’s generally not worth my waking up early for.

Probably a combination of both.
When we were in India this past August, I awoke every morning in plenty of time to see the sunrise. Not by choice but due to the fact that every church in the area starts playing loud “music” (aka noise) at about 4 AM. That combined with roosters, etc, made for an early start to each day. So up to the roof I would go to watch the sunrise while everyone else was still sleeping (I don’t know how they could still sleep, but then again I was the only one sleeping with a door open to the outside..) Those sunrises were pretty enough, but certainly nothing worth getting up early for.
There was also the time when we awoke at 3 AM while in Hawaii to go ride up to the top of Mt. Haleakala to watch the sunrise and then bike back down the volcano. On the way up I sat in the front seat next to our dreadlocked, hippie driver who played his Moroccan reggae music the whole time and told me about Morocco and why he came to Hawaii and where to find drugs on the island. He also kept talking about how if we got to the top in time we might see a good sunrise. If I have to get up at 3 AM, it’d better be a good sunrise. Maybe it would have been had it not been completely cloudy and rainy the whole time at the top. It was August…in Hawaii….why was it raining up there? It was also freezing cold. So…after a completely unimpressive sunrise, we started the ride back down. A ride in which I was pretty sure I was going to kill myself.
So…my memories of trying to go see sunrises aren’t the greatest.

When we were in Egypt one of the things our group was supposed to go do was hike up Mt. Sinai to watch the sunrise. Supposedly it’s amaaaazing. At least according to the reviews. And what time did this wonderful sunrise-seeing expedition take off? At the crack of stinkin’ midnight. Midnight sounds more like a time to go to bed, than to get out of bed. I decided that amazing or no, that was one experience I could live without. Midnight – while wielding a flashlight – is not my idea of a good time to start an 8 hour hike (start to finish). I don’t care how much money the trip cost. As it ended up, our entire group decided that was an experience they could live without. Much to the amazement of our tour guide! He said that in all his years of leading groups he had never had an entire group decide to skip climbing Mt. Sinai. So instead he drove us all to the base of the mountain the next morning so we could at least see Mt. Sinai. I say the views from the bottom are good enough for me. It’s just a huge rock. And it looks ridiculous to try and climb.

Anyways…so…I say all of that to say, I was actually impressed this morning when I looked at the window at 6:36 and saw what looked like a sunset – in the East. If I could be guaranteed that all sunrises would be that vibrant then perhaps I’d get up more often to see them. Maybe.

And no, none of these photos are edited at all. It was really this amazing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 10:28 am

    Wow, that is gorgeous! And it does look like a sunset.

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      January 27, 2012 2:03 pm

      Yeah I was so surprised when I looked out the window and saw it!

  2. January 27, 2012 10:51 am

    That sky is unbelievable! Wow!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      January 27, 2012 2:04 pm

      Isn’t it? I was supposed to be getting ready for work but I just couldn’t make myself go back inside. =)

  3. Traci permalink
    January 27, 2012 11:50 am

    Doesn’t God paint beautifully?!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      January 27, 2012 2:03 pm

      Yes, He definitely does!

  4. January 27, 2012 3:56 pm

    So lovely they hurt my eyes! (Maybe it was the Friday night red wine with the girls)
    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

