Skip to content

Where I’m Going Wednesday

January 11, 2012
tags:

So it’s been a long time since I last posted a Wednesday travel post. I will try to get back into that, but no guarantees how consistent it will be. =) Life is busy and I’ve been really preoccupied lately – as you can probably tell from the very neglected blog. But….since I have been getting this question since the day I got back from Europe, and I finally have a concrete answer, I decided to share it. The answer to “so where are you going next?” is…

The Caribbean!

I am so, so excited about this trip. I know, I say that about every trip. And it’s true every time. =) But really, I have wanted to do this for a long time, and really didn’t expect it to happen this soon. The only thing that would make it 10xs better would be if I had unlimited time off of work so I could stay longer, and just explore each island on my own (without being on a cruise) and take the ferry to each country when I had decided it was time to move on. But, nothing in life is completely perfect right? So I am taking what I can get, and am ecstatic that I get to go! Due to varying circumstances – one huge one being that I recently decided to try to buy a condo/townhouse this year – I had assumed that all my 2012 travel plans were out the window. So I really didn’t think this was going to happen this year. But it is and I can’t wait. I have never been to the Caribbean before so… I’m excited. The crazy thing is that we almost booked a cruise to the Bahamas and then decided to just wait and book it the next day since it was late in the evening. The next day I started reading reviews and decided to continue to look for another trip since the reviews of both the cruise line and the ports of call weren’t that great.  I hadn’t realized that my mom had enough frequent flier miles to fly to Puerto Rico, so I had been looking for cruises that left from Florida. Once I realized that, then we were able to start looking at southern Caribbean cruises!!! I can’t even begin to tell you how elated I was. I had always wanted to fly to Puerto Rico and cruise over to some of the nearby islands.

Yes, I always ramble when I am excited. =)

So….I say all that to say, we are flying down to Puerto Rico a day early to do some sightseeing and then catching the cruise the next day.

PR

PR

We sail to from PR to St. Thomas

St. Thomas UVI

and St. Croix (but not in this order) in the US Virgin Islands,

St. Croix UVI

 Grenada,

Grenada

Dominica,

Dominica

Dominica

 and St. Kitts and Nevis

St. Kitts with Nevis in the distance

 (the country of St. Kitts and Nevis is made up of two islands, St. Kitts and the island of Nevis, but we’re just going to St. Kitts).

If you know me at all you know that I love frequent flier miles! Well, I love them until I have to try and use them. Then it’s a nightmare. It’s often pretty hard to get reward flights on the days you need them. Or on the days you need them at the PRICE you want is more accurate. I only had 50,000 miles with Delta and so could only book certain flights to PR. All the rest were 60,000 and up. So trying to work that into dates when cruises left from PR and went to where we wanted to go was also hard. PLUS we could only book this in April (and within a limited budget!). The combination of those 4 factors alone were enough to make me want to pull my hair out while trying to book this vacation. It took many, many hours to get this trip nailed down. Plus my mom is super, super busy so we were trying to book it for certain days in April when she wouldn’t be needed quite so much while we were gone. I really, really didn’t think this trip was happening. So the fact that it is is a small miracle! So…even though they can be a pain, frequent flier miles/reward travel can be a huge money saver!

*All images taken from wikipedia (so…that’s why they aren’t that great)

**I’m not a huge fan of cruises but they can be an affordable and easy way to get to islands you would otherwise have a bit more difficulty and expense in getting to. Visiting 3 countries and 3 US territories on this trip is costing us less than our trip to New England cost, and that was using free flights then too!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 9:54 am

    Sounds like SOOOO much fun! 🙂

  2. Rhys permalink
    January 11, 2012 9:59 am

    Very cool, very..

  3. January 11, 2012 11:06 am

    Oh, Caribbian, Maldives…. I like these islands! Especialy in the winters 🙂

    • January 12, 2012 9:24 am

      I’ve never been to the Maldives, but I hope to go someday! =) Looks amazing!

  4. Carol Forster permalink
    January 11, 2012 11:27 pm

    Looking forward to seening your pictures of what seems to be a wonderful holiday. I hope you find it to be worthy of all the effort you have put into organising it.
    (Another tick on the bucket list?)

    • January 12, 2012 9:25 am

      Thanks Carol. I’ll def be taking pics so hopefully they turn out good. =) Every new country is a tick on the bucket list! =)

Leave a Reply

