Skip to content

What I look at each day…

December 16, 2011

Last year for Christmas I received a huge picture frame that I filled with various vacation photos. Since I had printed out too many of them, I started bringing them in to work and eventually started just putting them up around my desk…And then they started multiplying and taking over and now I have this to look at every day:

And this:

And this:

So it’s probably no wonder that I spend part of each day dreaming about where I want to go next. And reminiscing about all the fun that each of those photos represents. I remember things like:

  • My celebratory trip to the UK when I finished my masters – I fell completely in love with England and Scotland and Wales!
  • Walking through the heat of the desert in Jordan and then entering the Siq for a long, cool walk into Petra – and the awesome moment when the Treasury finally came into view.
  • Flying to New England with my mom just to see the Fall colors and explore those east coast states.
  • Spending hours in Seldovia, Alaska and wondering exactly what happened to the rest of our group!
  • Sailing on the Sea of Galilee with a group of college students from South Africa and singing worship songs together – and marveling and the awesomeness of the moment.
  • Climbing on the pyramids in Egypt and being awestruck at how surreal it all was, and how huge they were!
  • Running around Paris with Melinda and trying to see all the sights in our limited time frame!
  • Visiting Rebekah in Delaware and taking the train in to DC to see the sights…and also taking an Amish buggy ride
  • Crawling through sea caves in Malibu and trying to time it just right to get through and across to the next one before the next wave rolled in
  • Wandering through the Tower of London and reading messages carved into the walls by previous inhabitants (prisoners)
  • Taking a missions trip to Fiji and thoroughly enjoying an “American” ice cream cone from McDonalds after we made it back to Nadi – my first trip out of the country and seriously missing American food (oh how I’ve changed since then!)
  • Riding camels in both Egypt and Jordan
  • Taking pictures with lots of little, adorable Indian children while in India on a missions trip – and also being thrown into teaching at the completely LAST minute, as we were walking into the classroom. I will never forget that!
  • Almost getting left in Girdwood, Alaska and having to spend the rest of my life there. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • Walking on the gorgeous beaches of Crete – the sand couldn’t have been prettier nor the water any bluer!
  • Wandering around the island of Patmos and trying to imagine John being exiled there thousands of years ago
  • Eating LOTS of yummy pizza and gelato all over Italy
  • The amazing sunsets on the Aegean Sea in Greece – unreal
  • Getting back from my first trip to Alaska only to leave the next day for my first trip to Hawaii! And getting to just relax on Maui with the family.
  • Trying Belgian waffles for the first time in Brussels and adoring them.
  • Walking down the streets of Jerusalem and visiting the Wailing Wall – completely fascinating
  • Swimming in the Mediterranean
  • Sailing into the caldera at Santorini and staring up at the impressive village of Oia clinging tenaciously to the rim – and watching a fabulous sunset from the top
  • Visiting Windsor Castle in England – the first castle I ever visited
  • Going with the teens on a snow trip and finding a really impressive igloo, that the boys promptly destroyed – boys are so destructive (that igloo must have been a tonย of work, it was really neat)
  • Seeing the parthenon in Rome and the pantheon in Athens
  • Climbing in the Swiss Alps and listening to cow bells jangling below – such a peaceful moment (albeit a cold one!)

Those are just a few of the memories that the above pictures bring to mind. The list could seriously go on and on. I love being able to look at pictures and be transported back in time to various places around the world. So. Much. Fun! I feel so, so blessed!! Seeing the world, and the memories that you get to keep forever, is the best!

* One of our Brazilian student workers told me that she was going to bring me a postcard of Brazil to add to my ‘postcard’ collection. ๐Ÿ˜‰

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 1:01 pm

    I love your “postcard” collection! I think I want one…maybe I’ll just print out all your pics. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      December 20, 2011 1:31 pm

      =) If you want one just let me know!

      • December 21, 2011 7:58 am

        Are you kidding? I’ll take ANY that you give me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jenmarie33 permalink*
    December 21, 2011 9:38 am

    Ok, I’ll remember that =)

  3. December 22, 2011 2:37 pm

    Pretty inspirational stuff! Reminds me of a few happy memories too. Merry Christmas Jen

    • December 22, 2011 10:08 pm

      Thank you, Merry Christmas to you too!

Leave a Reply

