Skip to content

Life changing cookies

December 2, 2011

Question for the day. Have I ever shared recipes with you on this blog? Even just one recipe?

Nope.

So…you know this one will be good since I am actually putting it up on the blog, right?

I’m not a cookie person. I know, what kind of person am I? You know the kind of people who fall all over themselves when someone brings a pan of cookies in to the office? Yeah, that’s definitely not me. I have nothing against cookies, they just usually don’t do it for me. Someone could leave a whole tray of cookies on my desk, all day, and I most likely wouldn’t ever be tempted to try one. I know, I’m crazy. I can admit it.

(That’s how I stay so thin 😉 Just kidding)

Seriously though, even if I find a cookie that I like, I rarely feel the need to go back for seconds or thirds, unless I am just in a weird mood. I have no idea why…it just has to be amazing for me to bother going back for more.

But…

Then I found this recipe. And it changed me. I feel no guilt in admitting that I could probably actually eat the entire batch of these cookies in one sitting. Seriously. For me,  that’s saying a lot. 

During my 2 year stint in Wisconsin, I spent a lot of time holed up in our apartment due to ridiculously frigid temps outside. When we weren’t having company over, or having pizza and movie nights, I was baking. What else was there to do but perfect my baking skills? (Okay, besides homework).

Well, I can’t say I perfected my baking skills at all, but I sure spent enough time in the kitchen to have done so!

I even had a more-than-willing (I think) taste tester who sampled all my baking and gave me honest feedback. There was more than one recipe (2 that I remember lol) that got thrown into the trash along with the rest of the batch of cookies due to our mutual agreement that they just weren’t worth repeating! Years ago I lost my taste-tester due to un-cookie-related issues, but even he agreed that these were a great twist on the typically boring (sorry if I just offended anyone out there!) chocolate chip cookies.

Anyways, not only do I love these cookies for their incredible soft-chewiness and butterscotch flavor, but also because:

1. They are ridiculously easy and fast to make.

2. You can eat the batter to your heart’s content. No raw eggs to worry about! And yum yum is the batter good!

And because I am just way too lazy to sit here and type out an entire recipe for you all (sorry), I took a picture. I think it should be plenty readable.

Here are the parts I slightly adapt. I don’t add quite as much oil as they call for. When I have added the entire amount in the past, the cookies have been so moist that people have worried I didn’t bake them long enough (no worries even if you don’t, there’s nothing raw in there) but if they are too moist they appear greasy and unappetizing. So I just don’t quite fill the cup. I also let the cookies sit on the hot pan for 3 minutes before taking them off to cool. They really are a moist cookie and I’ve found that the extra few minutes helps them firm up a little. The sour cream in the recipe helps keep the cookies moist for days, but honestly they rarely last that long.

So enough blabber, here’s the recipe:

Perfectly round balls of dough make for perfectly round cookies =) Okay, almost perfectly round is good enough.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 8:54 am

    How lovely! Your post is so detailed. Makes me want to try the cookies because you promise the result. Do drop by my blog sometime, I just did it first ever dessert recipe post and I’d love to know what you think. It’s a bake, so you will be able to relate, I’m hoping.

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      December 2, 2011 4:09 pm

      Thanks, I’ll check it out. =)

  2. December 2, 2011 10:27 am

    I can’t believe you didn’t put this recipe in my recipe book! lol I’ll just have to add it myself. 🙂

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      December 2, 2011 4:10 pm

      haha well writing out all those recipes was taking a while lol =)

  3. December 2, 2011 1:59 pm

    Those look good, my cookies always end up burnt (the first batch) and crunchy (the second batch. I might have to try these. And do you mind if I pin this recipe to my Pinterest page? 🙂

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      December 2, 2011 4:11 pm

      Well these are pretty moist so you probably CAN’T burn them =) You might want to make them first to see if you want to pin it, but sure.

Leave a Reply

