Skip to content

My new addiction

November 8, 2011

So I have this little addiction and it’s called STALKING people’s expat, au pair, and travel blogs. I am seriously addicted.
I love reading about others’ travels and adventures of living/studying abroad. I’ve thought, on more than one occasion, of living abroad and/or becoming an au pair. It sounds like so much fun! But then I remember my high school babysitting jobs and wonder if I would really like to play mommy 24/7 – or however the arrangement would work. But living abroad??? If I had the extra cash, and a friend who wanted to come along, I’d do it in a heartbeat.
But for now, I content myself with reading other people’s blogs. And of course traveling as much as I can.
Here are a few of my favorite travel blogs. Some I have been reading for a while and some I have recently discovered. But they are all fun.
Enjoy!
PS, if you have a favorite travel/au pair/ex pat blog please do share with me!!! Muchas gracias!

Jenni

Mr. &  Mrs. Globetrot

Alex

Rachel

Everywhere Once

Jo

8 Comments leave one →
  1. juyjuy permalink
    November 8, 2011 5:28 pm

    You may want to check this out Ms Jen. dapattylaurel.blogspot.com. =))

  2. Felia permalink
    November 8, 2011 5:43 pm

    Thank you so much! I now have a new addiction!

  3. November 8, 2011 7:17 pm

    I don’t know I stumbled across this post of yours but I found it quite funny. I recently started blogging because I became an au pair in New Zealand, so I find that blogging about my experiences is a great way to let my family know what I’m up to. I also saw one of your pictures of you at Petra. I went there last March along with a few other places in Jordan which was truly an amazing experience, so hopefully you were able to see some of the rest of the country. As far as becoming an au pair yourself, I would definitely recommend it. You do get your days off from playing the mommy role, and if you find a great agency and family the benefits are awesome! Truly a budget friendly way to see the world. Cheers!

    • November 9, 2011 10:12 am

      Thanks for stopping by, can’t wait to check out your blog!
      Petra WAS amazing. I was just thinking about it the other day and remembering just how awe-inspiring it was to walk through the Siq and then end up in front of the Treasury. One of those moments I will never forget!
      Au pairing does sound like such a fun adventure…

  4. November 9, 2011 11:31 am

    Hey thanks Jen. This was a lovely surprise and I will enjoy following up the others. I very much enjoy following http://algarveblog.net/2011/10/22/the-7-day-holiday-guide-to-the-algarve/ferragudofan.
    I will at some point have expat status I hope but will try hard to be one of the “nice appreciative of their host country ones”!

    • November 9, 2011 1:11 pm

      Thanks, I’ll check them out. I love finding new travel blogs. I am sure you will be a great expat. =)

Leave a Reply

