Skip to content

Turkey

November 3, 2011

I think I am finally almost finished covering our recent Europe trip on the blog. I took over 4,000 pictures, so I’ve gotten rather tired of looking at trip pictures and am forcing myself to put up a few of Turkey. Believe me, you’ve only seen the tip of the iceberg as far as photos go =)

I really enjoyed our short time in Turkey and would love to go back someday and see places like Istanbul, Cappadocia and Pamukkale!

But for now, here are some shots of Ephesus and Kusadasi:

In Turkey for the first time!

Stop sign in Turkey =)

Just another cat in Turkey

Ephesus

In the library at Ephesus

Again

And again =)

At a rug-making school

We watched a weaver at work. Fascinating!

Silk worm cocoons – before being spun

Getting ready to spin the silk

Turkish apple tea =)

I managed to escape the kiss on the hand, but couldn’t get out of the picture/hug with our taxi driver =/

Turkish flags

There were so many fun things to buy in Turkey, and the prices were cheaper there too, but I was out of money/space in my suitcase by this point!

So many colors on display at all of the shops

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 9:31 am

    A lovely mix Jen. Those Turkish lamps look beautiful. I don’t have much recollection of shops other than carpet ones, the spices in the souk, and Turkish delight, which I liked more than I expected to as I find the Fry’s stuff disgusting. Loved all the teas. We have an Arabian Nights themed festival in Cacela Velha in the Algarve- very colourful and good fun.

    I’ve only been to Turkey once, on a gulet cruise from Bodrum, but I’d love to see more so will enjoy your next batch of photos too.

  2. November 4, 2011 9:15 am

    Ooohh, liked the pics. The one with the taxi driver made me laugh. You even look a tad tense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

