Skip to content

Missing WI

October 18, 2011

Every year around this time I start to really miss Wisconsin. I was only there for two years (grad school) but I loved it. I have such fun memories of being there! The cool, crisp Fall air here reminds me of the weather out there. Obviously it got much colder in Wisconsin than it does in Southern California, but this crisp air is the closest it gets. It always makes me feel that snow is on it’s way soon, even though out here it’s really not. (Except of course for our local mountains, yay, can’t wait to go snowboarding again!!) I loved Fall out there. Some of the huge farmhouses would be decorated with Fall decorations. All the hay bales – that were not just for decoration – added to the ambiance. And all the trees turned beautiful colors. It didn’t seem to last too long (as opposed to SoCal where leaves start turning colors in October and last well into Dec/Jan) but it was beautiful.

I miss it so much! The last time I was out there I took just a few photos of the river (Rock River) that ran right by our apartment:



I always drove past this beautiful lawn on my way to go shopping =)

They don't have flashing lights and crossing guard rails for their train tracks, you just have to slow down and make sure no train is coming. (At least in the rural areas we were always driving in, I don't know about the rest of Wisconsin)

I am sure I was driving crazy as I kept trying to take pictures out the window as I drove. It was so much fun being back there last year!

The front of our apartment building

I think this was the intersection where I slowly slid through on black ice while trying to stop once. Thankfully there were no other cars then!

The little church we drove 30 miles to each week. I have such fond memories of that place =)

Ahhh, so many memories!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 8:21 am

    I was JUST thinking of our time in WI about 5 minutes before I read this post! It was such a great time out there! Our leaves here in the east are just starting to change. I’m waiting for the vibrant colors!

    Such good times in WI, and I was reminded of one of them the other night when I almost ran over a frog crossing the road. Poor frog. I don’t know why that was so funny, but I remember laughing hysterically. 😉

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      October 19, 2011 8:13 am

      Awwwww I know!!!
      Haha I think we were laughing at something else at first and so when that happened it was just even funnier (I think it was near that farm with the little goats so we were probably laughing about that) Good times. =)

  2. Traci permalink
    October 22, 2011 8:22 am

    We miss you, too!
    I’m so thankful for your picture taking and posting, so I can “follow” along with your continuing adventures.

Leave a Reply

