Skip to content

Burano

October 10, 2011

What to do when you’ve already explored the main island of Venice? Venture out a little farther and see some of the other islands!

Since I had visited Venice two years ago, I knew that there wasn’t much else I needed or wanted to see on the main island this time around. So Sarah and I decided to catch the vaporetto to the island of Burano (cost  €13.00  round trip and took us about an hour each way).

Once we arrived there we were so glad we had decided to do it! Burano was so cute and charming, much less crowded than Venice, and even felt cooler temperature-wise. Venice can be so hot and crowded, so if you want to get away, hop on a vaporetto and head over to Burano (We didn’t visit Murano but I had heard Burano was the better of the two). It’s small, but so delightful and colorful! Here are a few photos from the day. (I apologize in advance for poor photo quality, I actually just took these from my facebook page instead of directly from my laptop so…)

Burano is known for its lace so you will see beautiful lacework everywhere!

This photo is from Venice. As we were waiting in the shade for the rest of our group, I noticed this nonna hanging out her wash. It took forever to get a shot with her actually in it =)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 6:35 am

    Love that last photo of the grandma putting the washing out! This post makes me wish that I had ventured out to Burano rather than just staying in Venice 🙂

    • October 12, 2011 10:48 am

      Aww yeah, next time you should! I was sad the first time that I didn’t go to Burano since I figured I’d never go back to Venice. But then I DID end up going back so it worked out perfectly! =)

  2. October 11, 2011 8:40 am

    I love all the colorful building! Beautiful! And the last one is so…ordinary…it makes me feel like I’m there.

    • October 12, 2011 10:50 am

      Thanks. I know I love the last one =)

  3. October 12, 2011 6:57 am

    Once again a wonderful and colourful post. I also visited Burano, back in 2009. Thank you for sharing.

    Mark.

    • October 12, 2011 10:53 am

      How cool, I visited Venice for the first time in 2009! =)

  4. October 15, 2011 6:58 am

    Hi Jen. Just back from the Algarve and having a bit of escapism on the net before I get too intimate with the real world! The photos are beautiful and took me straight back there. I’ve visited Murano and Torcello too, but have to agree that Burano is the neatest. Happy days!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      October 15, 2011 9:55 am

      Oh wow that sounds like fun! I know, it’s so hard to get back into the “real world” after traveling!
      Thanks!

  5. Antonia permalink
    October 18, 2011 4:55 pm

    Hey, I would love to purchase some of these photos. They are similar to my oil painting. I will call you later. Great photos!

Leave a Reply

