Skip to content

My Favorite City

October 6, 2011

My favoritest city in all the world is London. It was so fun to show Christy and her mom around the city (As much as I could, not having been there for 2 years) a few weeks ago at the end of our Italy/Greece trip. I think they fell in love with it just as much as me!

A few reasons why I love London:

1. It has an absolutely fantastic, clean, easy-to-use subway system!
2. Gorgeous architecture everywhere you look. It’s a beautiful city (and very clean)!
3. The locals are very friendly and helpful
4. There are lots of beautiful green parks everywhere
5. Delightful British accents abound – naturally 😉

I had originally wanted to try and see a show in the evening, since I have already seen all the typical touristy things to see, and at night it’s hard to see much else anyways, but since plans were still up in the air a few months out, I never booked a ticket. I figured I’d just show up -and see what was available at the half-priced booth in Leicester Square if it ended up that I had free time in the evening (we were only spending one day in London!!). We did end up with free time, but the show I really wanted to see (War Horse) was all sold out. And the other show I had considered seeing (Love Never Dies) had already closed a few weeks earlier. Guess I will have to wait till War Horse goes on tour. (Coincidentally enough I was in NYC this past April the weekend of War Horse’s NY opening, but didn’t realize it until too late and it was sold out there as well) I’ve heard/read many rave reviews so I really want to see it!

Anyways…enough rambling…here are a few pictures from the day:


Side view of Westminster Abbey

Front view

St. Paul's Cathedral

Taking a picture of our reflection =)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. trixfred30 permalink
    October 6, 2011 1:20 am

    Beautiful photos though as a Londoner (well in the suburbs anyway) I’m having a bit of difficulty with the
    ‘It has an absolutely fantastic, clean, easy-to-use subway system!’ – ever been on the Circle Line?!
    Great post anyway.

    • October 6, 2011 1:19 pm

      Haha well..only the part where the Circle Line and the District Line “merge/head in the same direction” – we could have used either and hopped on the Circle Line since it came by first. I haven’t used the subway too much in the suburbs though so…We did notice some trash at one subway entrance…but having just come from Italy and Greece – London is CLEAN! Have you ever used the Paris subway? The tube is spotless by comparison. =) – AND easy to use in that they announce the stops ahead of time and it’s also listed on the LED signs. I think it was Rome where we had to actually read the names of the stops out the window since they weren’t posted or announced AND there was no “map” posted in the car! Love London! =)

  2. October 6, 2011 2:06 am

    Nice pictures, particularly St Paul’s Cathedral! I totally agree with your verdict on London. Hope I can travel around all the above places sooner or later.

  3. October 6, 2011 2:07 am

    When i saw your main photo about Westiminster Abbey, i was surprised because last week, i went there with my mom and i live in London for learning English. When i was young, i came here and at that time, i thought ‘oh my god, London is incredibly amazing and i really want to live here’ and finally i came. But actually, nowadays i miss my country and i think about going back to Korea even though living in London is one of my dreams. But your blog brought back my passion about London life and my memories so now i don’t feel homesick anymore and i just thank for staying here.

    • October 6, 2011 8:50 am

      Awww, I can understand missing your home country. I would miss mine too if I ever moved to London (something I have considered!). But London is such a fantastic city and you are lucky to get to live there! =)

  4. October 6, 2011 5:54 am

    Once again, excellent pictures. You chose a good time to visit (weather wise). I shall look forward to more of your photography.

    • October 6, 2011 8:47 am

      Thanks! Yes, we had PERFECT weather. It couldn’t have been any better.

  5. October 6, 2011 8:36 am

    Yeah, this post makes me want to visit London…lol Don’t know how that’s gonna go… Great pics, Jen! 🙂

    • October 6, 2011 8:48 am

      Someday…if I am ever rich =P…I will take you to London with me. You’d love it! (Or if you are rich you can take ME =P)

  6. October 6, 2011 1:12 pm

    London is my favourite city too! But in your pictures is looks even more amazing!!

  7. October 6, 2011 6:08 pm

    Your photos are beautiful! Sounds like a great trip!

  8. October 7, 2011 3:51 am

    Nice photos! I enjoyed the parks too when I visited London. My favourite has got to Buckingham Palace. Did you enjoy the shopping too?

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      October 7, 2011 8:17 am

      I have enjoyed the shopping during past visits to London, but this time it came at the end of a 3 week Greece and Italy trip so I was completely shopped out by the time we got to London. =)

Leave a Reply

