Skip to content

Patmos

October 3, 2011

I was so excited when I saw that the cruise we would be going on included Patmos! It’s always neat to visit “Bible places” and so I was curious to see what this island of John’s exile looked like. It was indeed fairly dry and barren looking with not a whole lot of trees, and sharp, thorny plants covering the sides of the hills. Many people did an excursion that took them to “the virgin Mary’s house” and “St. John’s grotto” – the cave where he supposedly wrote the Revelation. Since I am not much into places that we really don’t know for sure were the exact place I opted to venture out on my own. I wandered in one direction and checked out all the shops, got an ice cream of course, and then wandered in the opposite direction and followed a path along the sea, stopping many times to take pictures. Overall I didn’t find the island too incredibly interesting, which I guess you would expect since it was used for exiling prisoners in the past =)

A few photos:

A restaurant along the way


Looking across the bay at the other side of the island

A little sea cave

Some of the MANY thorny plants I saw along the way

It was really hard to photograph these thorny “flowers” for some reason. I didn’t like how any of them turned out, but you can kinda get an idea of what they looked like

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandy permalink
    October 3, 2011 10:55 pm

    So Awesome Jen love the pics !!!

  2. October 4, 2011 8:43 am

    Didn’t know you were going to Patmos…awesomeness. Great pics.

  3. October 4, 2011 4:59 pm

    Love, Love, Love! Especially the first 2. Great eye!

  4. October 5, 2011 7:07 am

    I love the way on the boat pic you can see right down underneath the little dinghy into the water, it really gives depth to the pic – and the black and white final one was beautifully still and almost eerie. Well done! 🙂

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      October 5, 2011 8:40 am

      Thanks! I thought it was interesting how clear the water was underneath the boat as well!

  5. October 6, 2011 12:16 pm

    Never made it to Patmos on my Greek travels so nice to share your view of the island- thanks.

    • October 6, 2011 12:47 pm

      You’re welcome. =) Other than it being the island of John’s exile I don’t really know if it has any other draw…compared to the other islands we visited at least…

Leave a Reply

