Skip to content

Athens

September 22, 2011

Today was awesome. It started with a stop at the Parliament building to watch the changing of the guard at the tomb of the unknown soldier. Which was awesome in that it was so funny and I still crack up laughing when I look at the pictures. Then we headed up to the Acropolis of Athens to see the Parthenon and Mars Hill and see the city from the top. That was amazing. (Other than the fact that the cruise ships had all beaten us there and it was ridiculously crowded!)

After that we stopped at plaka to do some shopping and then headed back to the hotel. Of course it was gyros for lunch again today. Then an unplanned nap, a yummy ice cream cone (cheaper here in Greece too! Which is a good thing since I have withdrawals now if I don’t have at least one ice cream a day. Italy has corrupted me!) and a walk down to the beach for sunset pictures – which didn’t exactly happen since a huge cloud blocked the sun. =( But it was still pretty and had sun rays poking out in all directions.

The Greek transportation system is on strike again today so that meant no public transportation for us. We are hoping that they don’t strike next Monday when we get back to Athens since we have a whole day here before we fly to London. They already have a strike planned for next Tuesday, so hopefully they don’t decide to start early like they did this week! (Everyone was suddenly told to get off the bus) I’d hate to be stuck somewhere in downtown Athens with no way back to the hotel (taxis are on strike too).

Anyways….today was fabulous…except for the fact that we think this hotel has bed bugs! Totally grosses me out, so I’m trying not to think about it. Or else I won’t be able to sleep tonight! But we all have little bug bites all over, which just showed up today so…. I suppose with all the traveling I’ve done, I should be thankful that this is a first! But it’s just so amazing since this is a really nice hotel. It even has American amenities like wash cloths in the bathrooms, and toilet seat covers in the lobby bathroom!

Well, I’ll try to upload a few pics and then I am off to bed since it’s an early morning departure for the cruise ship!

Changing of the guard. Totally made me laugh, I love it!

The Parthenon at the top of the Athens acropolis

Climbing the ancient rock steps up Mars Hill

Link to a few more pictures. I have taken lots of photos and have way more to upload but will do that after I get home, eventually. =)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 12:29 pm

    Hey hope you’re having a great time in Greece!!!

  2. Cheryl Dunlop permalink
    September 22, 2011 1:11 pm

    If you have bedbugs, you need to find out how to deal with them, lest they go home with you in your luggage!

  3. jenmarie33 permalink*
    September 22, 2011 8:53 pm

    Thanks Randy, we are!
    Oh goodness Aunt Cheryl, really? Okay, that’s not cool. Imma talk to someone here this morning, we’ll see what happens! =)

Leave a Reply

