Skip to content

Life…

September 5, 2011

In six days my friend and I leave for Italy. After a week in Italy we head to Greece for a little over a week. Then we fly to London for a day. Then we come home again. We’ve been planning this trip for over a year, and have spent hours planning and dreaming and drooling over it. It’s taken me about 9 years to  make it to Rome, but I will finally be there! And I’ve been giddy with excitement whenever I’ve thought about it for the past few weeks.
But lately…my mind has been so preoccupied. I’ve been busy. Life has been crazy and all over the place emotionally. And I almost find myself dreading the thought of packing up and leaving while out of town family is still visiting. I just want to be with them and spend more time together. And also maybe catch up on my sleep. And perhaps even get over these allergies that have added an annoying dimension to everything.
But even while I am a bit overwhelmed at the moment. And even while I know this week pretty much could not get any busier…I also know that the 3 weeks away will be a nice break. A nice change of pace. And I know we will have a great time once we get there.
But I know that my mind won’t be anywhere close to Europe at least until we are on the plane. A far cry from the past few weeks when it was all I could think about. But..that’s life. =)

These past few days have reminded me of what is truly important in life. Seeing things take place that only God could orchestrate and seeing His sovereignty through events that don’t make sense to our human minds just overwhelms me. Being able to trust God and know that He is truly in control of the events of our lives brings such peace. Knowing that we can fully trust Him even when we don’t understand is such a comfort and I am so thankful that we have that assurance.I don’t know how I could live life without the peace that knowing God brings. I am so blessed. Even when life seems overwhelming, spending time with God always calms my heart and changes my perspective like nothing else can. We truly serve a great God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 6:31 am

    I hope you have a great trip! I’ll be praying for you – for all the reasons. 🙂

Leave a Reply

