Skip to content

Getting excited!!!

August 26, 2011

It’s been 2 years since I was last in Europe and I am so ready to be going back. There’s no place like Europe for beautiful old buildings, ruins, and cathedrals and I am so excited to fill my laptop full of way more photos than I will ever be able to wade through and post. =) And I am also excited to be able to eat real Italian food (and gelato) again. I almost cannot contain my giddiness. =) There is so much to do before then, and the next two weeks will be beyond busy – which somehow seems to be the story of my life leading up to trips. I never get to go into a trip fully rested up and ready to spend the next 2/3 weeks running on only a few hours of sleep a night. This time it’s mostly due to the wedding and family coming in to town, including my long lost Chilean brother. 😉 I still have lots of other little things to do like getting Euros and British pounds from my bank, printing out hotel info for our time in London, printing out flight info for all of our many flights, calling my credit card company to let them know I could potentially be using my card in 7 different countries. (Yes, SEVEN. We have layovers in Canada and Germany before heading on to Rome, ugh. And I’d hate to be turned down ordering a coffee or burger at lunchtime!) I have a feeling we will not be appreciating the fact that we saved a few hundred bucks on this flight when it comes time to take THREE flights to get to Rome. But at the time, it sounded like a wonderful (think cheap) idea. =) And I have heard good things about Lufthansa so we’ll see…
Anyways…there are lots of little things to get done before then. Including coming up with a brilliant idea for how to condense 19 days of clothing, etc into the smallest, most convenient suitcase possible. If you have any ingenious ideas please do share. I normally try to pack fairly light, but especially so this time since after 2 1/2 weeks worth of traveling and shopping I then have to navigate the Tube all the way from Heathrow into central London with everything and then drag it all to our hotel. =) Unless we break down and get a ridiculously overpriced taxi…but…I don’t see that happening.
It will all come together, it always does. The next two weeks really will be a whirlwind though. I really don’t know why I expected it to be any different. =)
Anyways, here are a few of the places we’ll be going while over there: Rome, Pisa, Florence, Vatican City, Venice, Verona, Ravenna, Ancona, Olympia, Athens, Tolon, Mykonos, Patmos, Crete, Rhodes, Ephesus, Santorini and London. Those are the highlights for me anyways. I am soooo excited to see all of these places and just soak up as much European and Mediterranean culture and food as I can.
I will do my best to update the blog from time to time as I am able. Internet is rarely free over there, and is usually fairly pricey but we’ll see how it goes. =) 16 days til we leave!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

