Skip to content

Photography love

August 17, 2011

I’m taking a break from Where I went Wednesdays for a few weeks, partly because I am so backed up with pictures and feel the need to post them before I forget, and partly because I just feel like it. So there you have it.

I love photography because I think it really causes you to stop and notice all the little, beautiful things. That tiny bug on a rose petal. The way the light is shining through the trees. The afternoon shadows cast across the hills. The bees buzzing from flower to flower. The child gazing up at her mother. The bold architecture set against a bright blue sky. The graceful flower petals that you might normally just rush right past.

Put a camera around your neck and suddenly the world comes alive. Everything needs to be captured and recorded. More often than not I find myself wishing I’d thought to bring along the camera. If you look for it, there is beauty everywhere. Especially in nature. The more I travel, the more I find myself in awe of just how amazing our world is. And then I think about the fact that Heaven must just be incredible. To be prettier than this gorgeous planet we on which we live?

As far as photography goes, I really don’t know what I am doing (and it’s obvious, I know but I still feel I need to state it for some reason), I’m content to just wander around and pretend I know what I am doing. I LOVE it. Everywhere I look, wherever I go, I see pictures just waiting to be created.

Take some time this week and slow down. Smell the roses. Enjoy all the little, beautiful things around you. I promise you, they are there!

I kinda like ivy. A lot.

Especially on buildings!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 8:37 am

    Great pics! I especially love the one of the lantern…

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      August 19, 2011 8:28 am

      Thanks, yeah I like the lantern too for some reason.

Leave a Reply

