Skip to content

The Cat Whisperer

August 16, 2011

So I’m pretty much a cat whisperer. Basically, cats adore me.
Take, for instance, this past Sunday when I stayed home sick. I was just minding my own business and doing all the important things I always do when I am sick, solving world hunger issues and formulating plans for world peace, when I hear a faint meow through the open living room window. No big deal, just one of our many cats, I’m sure.

We don’t actually own any cats per se, but every animal in the neighborhood eventually ends up in our backyard at one time or another, so I assume it’s just a neighborhood cat passing through.

And then I hear it again. And again. And again. And again. And, well, you get the idea. It sounded so close and so faint. I went outside to see if there was a cat stuck somewhere. I peered into and under the bushes. Nothing. Went back inside. Heard it again. It sounded like it was just outside the window, but there was nothing there. I went back inside and brought out a step ladder and peered over the neighbor’s wall to see if it was stuck over there. Yes, I really did.

I repeated all of this at least 3 times. Why could I not find the cat? Every time I came outside it stopped meowing so that didn’t help things.

Well, on about my fourth trip outside, it was kind enough to meow a few times while I was standing there and I was able to follow the sound to…the corner of the front yard. And there, perched high in one of our bushes, I saw this face peering back at me*:

He doesn't look tiny but he is

And meowing happy meows that Jen had come to rescue him.
Okay, so maybe he was actually hissing at me. Hissing at me. All I was trying to do was help.

I went back inside and poured some milk in a saucer and came back. He wasn’t interested and scrambled higher. Hissing all the while.

I decided maybe I didn’t really want to get bit or scratched today, so I went inside and put on a sweater, even though it was stinkin’ hot outside. Then I looked for gardening gloves. Couldn’t find any. So…it was either my leather winter gloves, or my snowboarding gloves. Since I don’t really use the winter gloves anymore, seeing as I live in Southern California, I opted for those.

Yes, you really do wish you could see what I looked like at this moment. Wearing my pink plaid pj shorts, Hello Kitty t-shirt, no makeup, a brown sweater and brown leather gloves. Stylin’ to be sure. I went to the kitchen and found a container of a creamy chicken dish in the fridge, I took some of that out to the kitten. He only hissed. Sigh. What to do? Then I remembered something I’d seen recently. It was talking about how vets calm cats to give them shots by pulling up on the nape of their necks like their mothers would carry them. It instantly calms them down. So even though he was hissing at me, I reached for the back of his neck and found it. He instantly sank down onto the branch and just sat there while I talked to him. But he still wouldn’t let go of the branches as I tried to lift him out. I had to slowly get one foot free at a time and then pull him out.

I set him on the ground near the milk, but he still wasn’t interested. When I let go, he ran off across the neighbors’ driveway, meowing like he was being murdered.

So yeah, basically, cats love me

*I wish I would have thought to get a picture of him hissing at me, but unfortunately when you are doing important, heroic things like rescuing kittens from tall trees bushes (I mean, come on, that’s fireman status right there) you aren’t thinking about things like creating the perfect photo op.

**Update, he keeps coming back so I think he really does love me 😉

***Another update. He is not a he, he is a she!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. auntiebobo permalink
    August 16, 2011 10:35 am

    ha that’s awesome. Our neighborhood has a cat named Bella (yes our neigborhood cause she never stays at her home!) and she is forever jumping in peoples cars, going into houses. The other day scarlet was complaining about a naughty kitty in the kids bedroom, sure enough bella was in there!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      August 16, 2011 10:02 pm

      Haha wow Katee, that’s crazy that she just goes in random people’s houses lol. Too funny.

  2. August 16, 2011 10:42 am

    Hahhaa…fireman status for sure!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      August 16, 2011 10:04 pm

      Yep 😉 She’s going to the pound tomorrow now though. =(

Leave a Reply

