Skip to content

Am I Crazy?

August 13, 2011

This year has seen a few bucket list items get “accomplished” and a few more will be happening soon! My bucket list isn’t very ambitious, really (well except for the school part, which is done). I haven’t decided to learn another language or take up a new art form or anything. I spent the first 23 years of my life (basically) in school and so I stay away from anything that vaguely resembles a class or test or homework in these post-school years. These are the “fun” years so my bucket list is mostly about anything that sounds fun to me. Which is why the other day when I struck upon a brilliant idea, I was totally game for it.  (Well…my co-conspirator/partner-in-crime and fellow redhead, Rebekah and I collectively hit on this idea, I can’t take all the credit.)

Bucket list item #52: Go on a blind date. I’ve never had this crazy urge to go on a blind date, really. But it sounded bucket-list-ish so I put it down. And then the other day a crazy idea hit me (us). Why not a blind date when in Rome? (Double date since there are two of us) That would be fun and memorable, right? I was so down for it. But I wasn’t so sure my friend and fellow travel partner would be. So I texted her and then spent the next several hours waiting for a freak-out email or text from her. Hours passed…It didn’t come. Then I got a text that simply said “call me when you get off work.” =)

Yeah, she’s not so down for it. Well, she is down with the idea. Just not in Rome, which she thinks would be unsafe. Which brings me to the question: am I crazy to think it would be an ok idea? Have I gotten too “lax” from all the traveling I have done? Or do you think that if you follow a few guidelines (below) that you would be fine? (My opinion, obviously, is that it would be safe)

Guidelines:

1. Don’t drink. Or meet up in bars, duh. Since I don’t do this anyways, it won’t be a problem. But most problems that arise stem from intoxication, so staying away from alcoholic beverages should cut down on the “not safe” aspect quite a bit, I’d think.

2. Meet up in a public place/restaurant.

3. Don’t go anywhere alone with them. Duh.

4. Since I only go out with Christians, that would also still apply to me and would definitely cut down somewhat on “weirdos.” Ha.

Am I too naive to think that meeting up with someone at a restaurant, and not drinking and not going home with them would be unsafe?

Have I lost my mind or does this sound like a fun, memorable way to cross off a bucket list item? (It doesn’t really matter since we aren’t going to do it anyways – I don’t want to do it by myself, that’s not as much fun, but I am still curious to hear input) And I still want to do it someday, if I find someone else who is game. =) Thoughts? Comments? What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 8:38 am

    Go for it! I even mentioned this idea to Matt, and he seemed to think that it would be safe. But don’t give him your hotel address or stupid stuff like that. And since I know you’re not bandwagon…hahaha

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      August 15, 2011 11:52 am

      I’m not bandwagon?? I don’t get it…

      • August 16, 2011 10:35 am

        Oops…missing some words there. Pretty sure that’s supposed to say, “And since I know you’re not stupid, we need to get your friend on the bandwagon.” lol Somehow I totally messed that up.. 😀

  2. auntiebobo permalink
    August 16, 2011 10:33 am

    I would say do that but bring a very big spray can of mace. 😉

  3. December 11, 2013 6:25 pm

    I’m Game.

Leave a Reply

