Skip to content

Random photos

June 28, 2011

The other day I was outside just wandering around with the camera when I noticed a bird sitting on one of our trees. I have no idea why I decided to try and snap a photo of her on my way back inside, but I did. I zoomed in since I was so far away, and when I did, I saw several tiny beaks peeking out from inside the knothole that she was perched on. I was so surprised. I had heard lots of chirping but there are so many nests in our backyard right now (seriously) that I never think much of it. Of course I was too far away to get a good picture, and when I got closer, she flew off. She must have warned them to stay quiet and hide since it got quiet and they disappeared.

You can kinda see some of the nest hanging out of the hole =)

I wasn’t giving up easily though. I went and found a small stepladder and climbed up to see inside. But it was too short. I hunted around for something else and found a slightly taller stepladder. Still too small. I finally went inside and got one of the bar stools from the kitchen and tried that. I still couldn’t see anything. I tried sticking the camera in the hole and using the flash but they kept coming out blurry. (I know what you are thinking, poor traumatized baby birds! Ha, maybe, who knows.) Finally I used a flashlight and sure enough I could see two tiny baby birds, trying their best to hide. (The hole goes way down inside, and then turns back into the tree so most of them were able to crawl almost completely out of sight – all I could see were tail feathers on most of them) I have no idea how they were able to scramble up the inside and peer out the top of this hole, since it’s pretty far down in there, but somehow they managed. Anyways, I wasn’t able to get any photos of them, but trust me, way down in this hole, there is a nest. =)

You can kinda see some of the nest hanging out of the hole =)

A few other photos from the day:

I loved the light outlining the leaf on the lower left


One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 9:43 am

    Love that dandelion photo. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

