Skip to content

Just a thought

June 27, 2011

The other day as I was doing my devotions and just talking with God, I remember the perfectionist side of me being so frustrated that I continually seem to bring the same failures and sins to God. I was so annoyed with myself when it suddenly hit me that if I was perfect I wouldn’t need God. For the first time in my life I was actually thanking Him for those shortcomings – hard as that was for me to do – because without them maybe I wouldn’t be as dependent on Him. Maybe I would start to think I had this whole life thing figured out all on my own.

So when I start to beat myself up for not being perfect (and I am not even close, ha!), I stop and thank God for the little ways He draws me to Himself each day and for the mercy and grace He continually shows to me, in spite of all my failures. He is such a good God!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 1:16 pm

    Great thought, Jen!

Leave a Reply

