Skip to content

After the Rain II

June 21, 2011

On Sunday as I was getting ready for church I looked out the window and saw water drops* sparkling on this daisy plant. I didn’t have a whole lot of time, since I’m never running ahead of schedule on any morning for anything, but I managed to snap a few pictures before heading back inside.  (Yes these really are all different pictures. I tend to go overboard on just one thing…)

I liked this one since you can see the upside down reflection of the house in the waterdrop

These next few aren’t that great but I liked how the water drops are so round like little bubbles.

These flowers were covered in tons of tiny round water beads

* These aren’t real rain drops either. These pictures were taken after the automatic sprinklers had watered the front yard. =) As someone pointed out, all my raindrops are fake 😉

** The two soft focus pictures were made soft focus after the fact, since I thought it helped highlight the water drops and  make them stand out a bit from the rest of the picture. Other that that, all I did to them – as I generally do with most pictures – is to lighten or darken them manually (ie the third picture is completely unedited so you can see how some of the other ones are lighter. If I don’t get the lighting just how I want it the first time, it’s very easy to adjust after the fact. Which is especially nice when you don’t have tons of time to keep adjusting your settings!) One of my favorite ways of shooting is to shoot slightly overexposed and darken it manually after the fact. Creates a nice effect. (That’s just a free tidbit since none of these were shot overexposed. I don’t think a white subject would work good overexposed! ) I really loved the green lawn as a background in these pictures. I love green =)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 9:56 am

    ahh awesome shots of the water, loved the pics

  2. June 21, 2011 10:16 am

    I love how you can see the green petals in the drops. These are beautiful pictures! I’m going to have to take a few picture taking lessons from you. 🙂

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      June 21, 2011 9:03 pm

      Oh yes, I will teach you all I know. It’s not much lol =)

  3. June 23, 2011 10:01 pm

    Very cool! You need to get into food photography!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      June 27, 2011 9:53 am

      I guess I don’t eat out enough anymore to do that lol. Eating out lost out to traveling haha – gotta save money somehow. =)

Leave a Reply

