Skip to content

After the rain

June 19, 2011

And…that title is um…not really accurate because it didn’t rain. But it sounded much better than “After the Carwash” =P

The other day I was in the backyard when I happened to see this hibiscus flower lit up by the sun. The plant is in the shade, under trees near our middle water faucet, and itwas the only flower on the plant. When the sun is perfectly lighting up an object, you never know just how long you will have to capture the perfect shot before the light placement moves, soI ran inside to grab my camera, locked the dogs in the patio, and started taking pictures. Thankfully – and oddly – this flower was at the end of a very long stem, so it was easy to position it wherever I wanted! These shots would be much better if I had a DSLR camera and a macro lens. I really really wish I had a macro lens, I am kind of in love with them, even though I’ve never used one. You can get so many cool shots with them though. Sigh. I did my best.


I had just started taking pictures when I see Little Bear – our insanely hyper dog – come running out of the gate that was no longer closed! She is the most curious thing ever and always wants to be right up in whatever you are doing, which is why I had shut the gate. I was a bit worried she’d come tackle me there crouched on the ground, so I told her to stay away. She slowly crept up on me and I am so surprised I was able to get a few pictures of her as she did so. Usually it’s almost impossible to get any good shots of her since she is a blur of motion all the time. But she was trying to slowly get closer – as if I wouldn’t notice – so I guess that helped in these next few shots.

I like the drops of water on her noseShe was trying to act all inconspicuous so that I wouldn’t make her leave
These are the shots where I especially wished I’d had a macro lens. I just love the raindrops sitting in the stigma of the flower.



4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 7:27 am

    Lovely…and the dog ones cracked me up, she must have quite the personality, hahaha.

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      June 20, 2011 8:36 am

      She does! She is one of the silliest/craziest dogs we’ve had, but she’s so funny.

  2. Traci permalink
    June 21, 2011 8:22 am

    Gorgeous flower photos–and the dog ones aren’t bad either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

