Skip to content

10 years

June 12, 2011

I hate attending graduations. Because it means saying goodbye to people. And I hate goodbyes. When you are in college, people come to town for school, and then they graduate and leave. When you are in high school, or working in a youth group, people are finishing school and going off to another school. More leaving. I think we need to make a pact that we will all just stop leaving, stop moving, and stop getting older (none of us really wants to do that anyways, right?).

Okay, I don’t really hate attending graduations. They are fun. Until I think about what it represents. Then I get all emotional.

This weekend we had two graduations. My brother’s:

So happy for him and proud of him!

And our LBA graduation:

Ethan saw my camera and came up and wanted his picture taken =) He used to be in my 2s and 3s! I can't believe how fast they grow up!

I really can’t believe that all of these people have now graduated:

They were all just kids when I graduated! I remember when the girls were all little 5 year old junior cheerleaders! Now they are going off to college?

All the grads listening to Jay sing a song from our Alaska CD. Love that song and the message in it!

Unfortunately I had 2s and 3s class so I didn’t get to see all of the graduation, but I am thankful I got to see part of it at least.

I feel so blessed to have gotten to know these kids (ha, I’ll always say that =P ) over the past few years. I am so excited to see what God does in their lives in the future. I pray they all walk closely with God and follow His leading in the years to come! It makes me feel old to be able to say to them that I have been where they are headed, I remember what it’s like, and that I know the best decision they can make is to walk with God.

In a way I can’t believe it’s been 10  years since I graduated from high school. But in a way, it feels even farther away than that. I can’t really explain that but I feel like I have done so  much since then that it feels so far away. Time goes by so fast! Ten years since high school graduation. Six years since college graduation. And four years since grad school graduation. And I survived it all! =) But man it sure makes me feel old! =(

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 6:23 am

    Graduations always make me cry, even when I don’t know the graduates! I can’t help but think that someday those will be MY kids going off to college…ugh! lol We attended our kindergarten graduation last month and I bawled the whole time for all these little 6 year olds, hahaha, because I kept thinking next year that will be my Lily graduating!

  2. June 13, 2011 8:46 am

    Aleassa – me too!
    Jen – I can’t believe how time flies. I was the one teaching those Jr. Cheerleaders! lol Wow. I kinda forgot about that until you mentioned it. 🙂

  3. Antonia permalink
    June 15, 2011 8:37 am

    Wow, I can’t believe those girls are graduating already!

Leave a Reply

