Skip to content

Flowers

June 4, 2011

This morning I headed back to the back house to get some photo tips from my brother (he’s the real photographer in the family. I just pretend I know what I am doing). Last weekend I drove up the coast and had taken some pictures and he had asked me if I had shot some a certain way. Since I had no idea how to shoot them like that, I decided maybe I should go figure it out for next time! =) After a few pointers (I’m a slow learner so maybe some day it will all stick in my brain somewhere) I headed back up to the front house. As I passed these flowers, I couldn’t help but stop and snap a few photos. (I just can’t help but take pictures if there is a camera in my hands!) And I couldn’t decide which were my favorites so here they all are:

This is one of my faves because I like the three flowers poking their heads in on the sides

I love the shadows across this one

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 9:02 am

    These are amazing!

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      June 7, 2011 11:35 am

      Thanks, they were fun =)

  2. June 7, 2011 6:31 pm

    So what’s David’s “certain way” of taking pictures?

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      June 8, 2011 8:18 am

      Oh it’s not so much that he has a certain way of taking pictures, it’s just that he knows the settings (and how to use them lol) much more than I do. He’d asked if I had taken photos of the water where you make it look all soft and smooth, but I didn’t know how to get it that way. I thought if you left the shutter open longer to do that it would let in too much light on a really sunny day, but he was just explaining how adjusting the ISO can let less light in to help on a sunny day if you want to keep the shutter open longer. I still think that it would be hard to achieve at high noon on a sunny day, such as ours was…Probably better nearer to dusk or on a cloudy day but… I always just adjust shutter and aperture, never even changed my ISO before that day lol.

Leave a Reply

