Skip to content

Take a vacation!

May 20, 2011
tags:

I love to travel. For a naturally curious person, there is nothing better than being able to explore the world and see for yourself just how incredibly cool it is.

But travel isn’t always cheap. And sometimes that scares people away. But I am here to tell you that it CAN be cheap.

The two new loves of my life are:

  1. Reward travel miles
  2. Travelzoo

I couldn’t tell you the last time I paid for a flight within the USA. I always just use reward miles now and take free flights. I never pay for local flights. And then I use all the money I’ve saved from national flights to pay for my international flights.  The key is:

  1. SIGN UP for reward miles programs on every airline you fly. Even if you think you won’t fly with them again.
  2. If the airline offers miles to open a credit card, do it. (Provided it’s enough for a free flight, or if combined with your existing miles it will be enough for a free flight.)*

(If the card has a yearly maintenance fee that is waived for the first year, be sure to just cancel the card before the year is up.)

Example:

I received over 16,000 miles on Delta from my last international flight (to Tel Aviv).  Then I signed up for a Delta credit card which offered me 25,000 miles after I make a purchase with the card. It also offers an extra 15,000 miles if I can spend $1,000 on it within the first three months. (With how much I have cut back on spending I didn’t think I could do that, but then I remembered I still need to pay the balance on my Greece trip by July 15th. The money has been waiting in the bank for over a year, but by putting that cost on my Delta card, I will get my extra 15,000 miles)

That means I have enough for a…TRIP TO EUROPE! Or two local trips but….those are MUCH easier to score. Flights to Europe? Not so much.

*I know a lot of people are hesitant to open credit cards. They think it will hurt their credit score. And yes, initially after you open a new card, your score will dip slightly. But it will go back up soon and actually having more credit available  to you helps your score. (I have great credit too btw) If you are trying to get a line of credit or buy a house then no, I wouldn’t suggest opening a card to get a free flight.

Also:

I love Travelzoo because it’s easy to search a region I am already planning to visit to see if there are any deals on flights to that location, hotels in the area, etc. I ALWAYS check Travelzoo before booking anything. If you sign up for their emails you will also get a “Top 20” deals of the week email each week. It lists fabulous deals to everywhere you can think of. Including awesome deals like flying to Ireland and staying in a castle for a week for like $700 a person – including air. Awesome. Love Travelzoo. It’s bad for my travel addiction, but oh so much fun! =)

Happy travels!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 8:32 am

    Awesome! 🙂 Great tips, btw.

Leave a Reply

