Skip to content

Afternoon visitor

April 14, 2011

Because of all these:

 

Cape Honeysuckle

And these:

Some of the many fruit tree blossoms in the backyard

We get lots of these:

 

Hummingbirds

I always see them out the kitchen window as I’m making dinner. And I always wish I had time to stop and take pictures. The other day, however, this one landed in the tree right outside the window and just sat there. I watched him for a moment and then realized he had a tiny twig with berries on it in his mouth (not sure why?). I ran to get the camera but by the time I came back, he’d dropped the twig. He was still sitting there though, so I quietly went outside and slowly zoomed up on him. He watched me for a while and seemed to be irritated. When I turned for a moment, he flew out of the tree and hovered close, making a tiny noise and just fluttering his wings as if trying to get me to go away. Then he perched up a bit higher, with his feathers all fluffed out (trying to appear bigger?) Anyhow, with all his wings fluffed you can better see his bright green color.

 

Fluffed wings

From below. I like much better the overexposed shots that create the white background, but I didn't get any from this angle, so the blue will have to do. =)

I love hummingbirds. I remember being at the Little League field one spring and another kid excitedly telling us he found a hummingbird nest. Sure enough, there was a tiny nest with two tiny eggs inside perched at the end of a long pine branch. The tiny nest and tiny eggs were so incredibly cute!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 12:35 pm

    Aw, how pretty. I love hummingbirds, I did a speech on them in college. Did you know their tongue sucks nectar from a flower at a speed of like 300 licks a second or something crazy like that? That’s pretty amazing you caught him so still for so long.

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      April 15, 2011 1:32 pm

      Wow, yeah they are pretty impressive! I know, he just sat there looking at me. I thought he would fly away!

  2. April 18, 2011 8:54 am

    Those are great pictures! It’s very hard to get pictures of hummingbirds staying still. Also, I loved the fluffed wings. 🙂

  3. October 5, 2011 12:31 am

    lovely pictures~

Leave a Reply

