Skip to content

Six Flags

March 29, 2011

Last weekend a group of us from LBC made our yearly trek to Six Flags. Love that place. At first the lines were nonexistent and we rode 3 in a row without waiting. Of course the same could not be said for Tatsu or X-2 (which are the best rides in the park). Tatsu is pretty much insane (in my opinion) in that you are facing the ground the whole time and from way up there you just can’t help but imagine your harness opening and you plunging to the ground below. It’s a great adrenaline rush. However, the lines for Tatsu were long and so they were only giving out 400 tickets at the top of each hour. Since we missed getting tickets the first two tries, we headed over to X-2. While we were in line there, Tatsu got stuck. A girl in line showed us a picture that her boyfriend (who was in line for Tatsu) texted her. I can’t IMAGINE being stuck upside down for 15 minutes…I would be praying that they did NOT push the wrong button while trying to fix the ride. (They were stuck at the part right after you take off and you are looking down over the walkway below) I still shudder when I imagine being stuck there. And I guess we were a little crazy to go ride it after that. (They seemed to be having problems with it all night long.)

We had lots of fun in spite of the chilly weather, and were very thankful it never started raining on us!

One of the girls who came with us was a foreign exchange student from Japan. She is staying with a family in our church and they sent her over to go with us. So Christy and I hung out with her and while at lunch found ourselves on the topic of Easter. Explaining Easter to someone who has never heard of Jesus before, or any of the Gospel, is a bit of a challenge by itself. But then to try and explain it to someone whose English isn’t that great is…even more of a challenge. But what a great opportunity! So I did my best, although I am sure she is still confused. (I’m sure she will have NO idea what all the candy and eggs and bunnies have to do with what I told her once she sees them in our stores) I was able to get some tracts in Japanese so perhaps reading it will make more sense! But as I sat there at lunch, it was almost an overwhelming feeling as I realized that she had never heard of Jesus before. It felt like such a privilege to be able to share Him with her.  So if you think of it, please pray for her that she will have many more opportunities to hear the Gospel and that God will work in her heart. I tried to get her to come to church, but I don’t think she really wants to. (“I think maybe I won’t” were her words) But she says she’s staying for 8 months so perhaps she will eventually…(Although they often don’t understand anything at church, since everything is said much too fast for them to comprehend..) Anyways, if you think of it please pray for her. Thanks =)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 12:25 am

    My very first job was a trashman at 6F Arlington. Actually – a lot of fun. Although sometimes they made us climb the looped roller coaster and push a stuck car- surely not OSHA compliant! Oh – and the ‘trash juice’ – disgusting!

  2. March 30, 2011 8:13 am

    Yes, you are CRAZY for going on that ride after that! Oh my goodness, I would have died of a heart attack! I just like those little roller coasters that don’t even go upside down, ha. Glad you survived! 🙂

Leave a Reply

