Skip to content

A GIVEAWAY post! $500!

March 25, 2011

Do you ever dream about the future and all you want to do and accomplish? I do. All the time. There are so many things that I want to see and do and experience. Life is not perfect, and hard times come from time to time, but honestly, life is fun. There is so much I just can’t wait to do. But one of the things I am not dying to do is get married. Now, here’s where a lot of people don’t understand, so that’s why I am here to explain! (Let me preface it by saying I am really bad at explaining things. Doesn’t matter the subject, I’m just bad at it. It all makes sense in my  head, but I think sometimes the more I try to explain, the more I just confuse people. So if you are scratching your head at the end, you probably aren’t alone. But at least I warned you.)

I remember once a year or so ago when a guy told me his friend had asked him about me, and he’d told him that I was not interested in dating anyone for a long time. Those were his exact words. I am pretty sure I had never told this person that, so I’m not sure where he got that. And afterwards I was like “wow, does everyone really see me that way?”  But considering the fact I was not interested in the person asking about me, I didn’t mind someone having intercepted him for me. But what if I had been interested? I would have missed out (lol) all based on everyone’s perception of me.

Today someone told me that a friend had found someone for me! Can you guess how old he is? Drum roll please……He’s 40. I’ll let that sink in for a moment.

Okay now, I know I am getting old. But do I really seem that old? While I’m over here clinging to my fleeting youth, someone’s out there trying to add years to my life. (Wouldn’t marrying someone that much older instantly just make you feel older? As Charlotte Bronte would say, Dear Reader, I think so)

It always makes me laugh when someone thinks they’ve found someone for me! I don’t think these people are even trying. I don’t think they have my best interests in mind. Actually, now that I think about it…. what is their motive? I haven’t a clue. I always tease that if I offered a reward ($500 to whoever finds my husband…he’s missing and I have no idea where he is. Good luck!) that people would actually start trying. (Okay, perhaps he’s worth more than $500 but I’m not a money machine over here…)

Anyways…I honestly think some of these people just think that I can’t find someone on my own and I need their help.  (Truth be told, finding the kind of guy I’d be interested in IS a hard task for anyone) Or that I am desperate to get married and will take anyone. Ha. Just because I am very private about stuff like this and have vowed to never blog about boys (don’t you have enough drama on your own, you don’t need mine, right?) doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. Or that I am desperately looking for someone. Just for the record, I’m not. I love being single. There is so much you can do! There’s lots on the brain as far as future plans, and things I’m planning or dreaming of*, but pining away to get married isn’t one of them. It just isn’t. I know, I know, everyone says “but what if’ it’s God’s will?” Then YES, of course, I want God’s will in my life. I do. Completely. I am always asking God to reveal His will in my life, and to  make me willing to do whatever it is. And I’m so excited to see what the future holds. But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy my singleness and that I have to go hunt down a husband. If God wants me to get married, HE will send him along. I’m sure He’s much better suited to picking out a husband for me than I would be anyways (at least I certainly hope so!)

But that doesn’t mean I am a man-hater, or that I don’t like dating (hey, I like a free meal just as much as the next girl. KIDDING. Seriously, I hate guys spending money on me, I really do. I always feel terrible.) So please don’t think terrible thoughts about me. Again, I do not hate boys. And if someday in the future (say 30s. Yikes, that’s kinda soon) some wonderful man wants to marry me, and that’s what God wants, then great. And if it’s God’s will then I will probably want to marry him too…(I’m assuming at least!) But till then…

It really doesn’t bother me when people try to hook me up with random or old or deaf or Spanish-speaking (It’s only important to mention that because I don’t speak Spanish) or Filipino or loud obnoxious white guys or really, quiet, shy, white guys who your girls at camp imitate and make fun of all week (for shame, girls!), or every other single camp counselor …it actually makes me laugh. I really do hope, though, that they aren’t serious.

But 40? Really? I do appreciate people’s efforts and for thinking of me. Lest I sound ungrateful, if they are being serious, then I appreciate their attempts at kindness. But if they are thinking I am here to dole out charity and rescue others from singleness…I’m probably not the best person for the job. I mean, if you find my husband, then sure, send him over. There’s a check here with your name on it. But for the rest of you…


*There’s a whole world out there, folks. My list of things to do is a mile long and I am sooooo excited about some of them. Ahhh, can’t wait!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 10:09 am

    Hmm…I could really use $500. I’ll have to start looking harder. 🙂 Though I must say, the choices are slim here in Delaware, and I have a couple of other single friends who actually live here… I don’t know how successful I’d be in finding 3 perfect guys. I really have my work cut out for me.

  2. March 25, 2011 12:16 pm

    Make sure you bring that check with you to NY. We are sure to find you some handsome romantic stranger there 😀

  3. March 25, 2011 12:31 pm

    WHAT Beck? You are looking for three of us? Hahahaha well good luck with that. I get the best one you find 😉 lol
    Hahaha Ruth…will do 😉 (are we going to that dentist? lol jk) 😉

  4. March 25, 2011 12:38 pm

    LOL Ok, deal. I’m sure my other two friends are also capable of finding their own, just like you, so maybe this won’t be as hard as it sounds. 🙂

    Hmm…that dentist…

    • jenmarie33 permalink*
      March 25, 2011 12:44 pm

      Yeah, I mean…everyone needs to go to the dentist, right? What could be better than getting your teeth cleaned in NEW YORK CITY? hahahaha 😉 But Ruth wasn’t having any of that…. 😉 lol

Leave a Reply

