Skip to content

Happy March!

March 2, 2011

Wow, I can’t believe it’s March already! I used to look forward to March for months when I was a kid. Now it seems like every few months it’s March again! Sigh. I’m not ready to turn another year older. =( Another year smarter, perhaps. But not older. But nobody asked me so…there’s not much I can do about it now.

Anyways…after March comes April, and that is a very good thing. Because April means VACATION and after all the craziness at work eventually dies down, I will NEED a vacation! I already need one and the insanity is just starting. Right now is my super busy time at work and even when I’m not at work I feel like there’s something I am forgetting, something I need to do, someone I need to email, etc. I kind of feel like half my brain is missing right now. But I know there is light at the end of the tunnel, and when we get to that light, which is April, then we will celebrate! So…the promised posts of more substance will come eventually…not sure when though.

AND…I did something spontaneous last week that I have to mention! (Remember how I said I am working on being more spontaneous?) Well last week after dinner my brother casually mentioned, a few minutes after 7 pm, that he had two hockey tickets for that evening and he wasn’t going to use them. And the game started at 7. In Ontario. My mom wanted to go but no one else did. So I frantically changed and out the door we went. In the pouring rain. To a hockey game. I  had never in my life gone to a hockey game before. I learned something new that night. There are 3 periods in a hockey game. I almost walked out after the 2nd. What other sport has 3 periods/”quarters” (ha, thirds? 😉 )/etc…? And I knew people went for the fights but really? The crowd was cheering more for fights than for goals! Reminded me of bloodthirsty Romans and gladiator fights. Just modernized a bit. So…that was interesting. Now I can say I have been to a hockey game.

Alright, that’s enough out of me for the night. Oh and one more thing that is super noteworthy in my book (almost as noteworthy as if Zaz ever conquers a big jump 😉 ) is that I conquered my fear of exiting the ski lift while on a snowboard last night! (I learned that who cares if you practically fall out of the lift? Everyone else is falling too!) Getting on/off the lift while on skiis? Piece of cake!! But not so much on a snowboard! But I did it. And one of my exits was deemed “very graceful” by the lift operator. And he wasn’t being sarcastic either! (Yes, I am very proud of this accomplishment, and am telling everyone!) The reason I am so proud of this is because it’s the ONLY time I was able to stay on my feet while exiting the lift! All the other times I eventually fell, even if it was in slow motion. Ahhh, well, I have lots to learn. But conquering my fears is half of the battle. And I’m getting a killer leg workout in the process too!

Alright, now I’m really done.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 8:13 am

    I am glad you enjoyed the hockey game… We define them as “fights where hockey games break out” 🙂 I follow the Red Wings on ESPN…I like hockey!

  2. March 3, 2011 9:52 am

    Haha – Renae…..
    Way to go on your “very graceful” exit from the ski lift! Go, Jen!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    March 3, 2011 1:48 pm

    lol Renae, seriously!
    Thanks Beck! =)

Leave a Reply

