Skip to content

It’s Friday and I really just want to be sleeping

February 25, 2011

I am sure my lack of regular blogging has you thinking “Jen finally has NOTHING to say. This is a week to be remembered.” But before you get your hopes up. It’s not true. It’s just my own procrastination being deceptive and tricking you.

Because actually? I have a LOT to say. Too much. So much in fact that I can’t ever narrow it down. It gets overwhelming when I think about sitting down and typing it all out – the way writing papers used to feel. And so I do what I did then. Procrastinate. Hey, if it worked then (and it did, I have two pieces of paper to prove it), then surely it will work now. Right? Eventually it will all build up inside to the point of bubbling over, and then I will sit down and write it. Or at least parts of it until I get bored of it and move on. I never said I had a long attention span. (Well I do at times, but it comes and goes. Ha.)

Anyways….so instead of sitting here and composing a nice, well-thought-out post, I am just going to list the things I am THINKING about posting. And then you can see I really DO have lots to say (not that you doubted that for one solitary moment) and I only FEEL like posting these at 2 AM when my mind is wide awake and but I don’t really feel like getting out of bed to blog. My brain is completely on it’s own timetable (one that I have yet to fully understand) and the moments I do have time to blog? It completely shuts down and leaves me staring hopelessly at the screen. My brain is not on the same page I am on. Perhaps, actually, it’s on another team.

So without further ado, here’s what I WOULD be blogging about. If I felt like it.

1.The effects of Islamic world affairs on our current gasoline prices. (Actually, I wouldn’t really blog about that, I just wanted to sound smart-ish. And mention the fact that I AM annoyed that gas prices keep rising. Moral of this point: “Drill here and drill now.” I really don’t want to spend a month’s wages driving to the grocery store. Thanks.)

2. Why I don’t make New Year’s resolutions anymore, but I do have life resolutions that I try to live by each day.

3. If I could make teenagers grasp one thing while they are still teenagers it would be to love God, completely. It’s the key to everything else. Once that is there, the rest falls more easily into place.

4. Why I am insanely excited to see Turkey this year – the place where Christ’s followers were first called Christians.

5. How I am rereading the book, Radical: Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream, because I need to be reminded again. And why you should read it too. You should. Be prepared to be changed. I was. And also I’d write about trying to live in light of what it talks about, while still living in consumer-driven America.

6. How I’m sad that the weekend’s rainy forecast ruined my girlfriend getaway plans for this weekend. Boo. But then! Then they said we might get SNOW! And I figure, if I can’t get away with my friends because of the rain, it might as well just snow. Somehow I feel it would be fitting.

7. The interesting life of a PK – It would be too hard to give a synopsis of this one without having to go into detail, so we’ll save the summary for when I can write the real thing.

8. Why I think it’s okay to stay single (I admit that I am very selfish and love my independence. And I don’t feel bad about that because I finally realized that people get MARRIED for selfish reasons too. They aren’t getting married because they feel it’s their duty to society to become a martyr. No, they are doing it because they WANT to. So if I think I’m too selfish to get married, then that’s okay too.)

9. How I am counting down the days till our girls’ week in NYC! Can’t wait. But it’s not till April. And that’s still too far away. =(

10. Why I think the Democrats in Wisconsin are just plain dumb. At the least the ones in hiding. Sheesh. As we say around here, man up! If the Republicans had done the same thing…Hmmm…I just have a feeling the coverage of it might be slightly different. Correct me if I’m wrong on that one.

Well 10 is a nice even number so I’ll stop for now. Happy rainy/snowy weekend everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 10:24 am

    Oh man….lots of fun posts to look forward to…

  2. Jay permalink
    February 25, 2011 10:52 pm

    #7 should be an interesting read. Helpful, too.

    • jenmarie permalink*
      February 26, 2011 12:57 am

      Well that’s good since it’s been the thing I’ve wanted most to write, for years. Just a bit daunting to write that much so I’ve been putting it off. =)

Leave a Reply

