Skip to content

Graph paper fun

January 31, 2011

I have never been a fan of math. Ever. Not in elementary school. Not in high school. And not in college. Thankfully I didn’t have to take a single math class in grad school (that’s why I went, they promised me that no math classes were required). BUT there is one good side effect of math. And that would be graph paper! I don’t remember how or when exactly I had the idea of turning graph paper into art, but I do remember asking one of my brothers if I could have a page or two out of his notebook. And a one week missions intensive during college resulted in the first picture.

This took a week to create! (Don’t worry, I wasn’t taking the class for credit, so I think doodling was allowed. Probably.)

That would be a sheet of graph paper with each square containing its own picture, which in turn creates the larger picture. And yes, it took many many hours to complete. And thinking up ideas (no two squares are identical) for pictures took some time too. Pretty soon I had people from other rows in class suggesting ideas for me, I was completely out of my own ideas.

Then in grad school I made the second one.

You can kinda tell when some of these were created by what’s written. (ie her “World Series mustache” and the “2005” reminds me this must have been drawn during my first semester of grad school. =)

There are actually a few more of these, but you get the idea. Doodling got me through school. It really did. And I miss it. I don’t spend enough time doodling these days.  😉  Every time I run across these notebooks (I can’t bear to throw them out), I smile and remember all the fun I had doodling my way through high school, then college, then grad school. Fun memories.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:48 am

    You are so good! I LOVE LOVE LOVE these! Hmmm…now I can have copies…or maybe I should call them lithographs..and print them for my own notebooks! lol Will you sign mine?

  2. January 31, 2011 10:25 am

    You are quite an artist! These are amazing! I have one who likes to doodle too, but mostly tanks and battles. 🙂

  3. Traci permalink
    January 31, 2011 10:31 am

    You could have included Hebrew letters if you had been doodling in Mr. Mayes’s classes! I have a puzzle based on this idea. We lost motivation to solve the puzzle after we lost an edge piece. When you know a puzzle will be incomplete no matter how hard you try, it’s difficult to get excited about completing the puzzle.
    You could use one of your photographs as inspiration for your next one.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    January 31, 2011 11:41 am

    lol Beck, sure 😉
    Thanks Lisa.
    Traci, actually I think your husband’s classes might have been what inspired me to make bookmarks with verses written in Hebrew – that was much harder than it seems, since I don’t know Hebrew and got all confused when I printed the verses off the internet and was trying to figure out where to start. And having to start at the bottom of my bookmark and somehow make sure I spaced it out just right so that it ended perfectly at the top… Whew, I didn’t try that again =) Would have been easier if they read left to right. Oh well.
    Sad about the puzzle. Are you sure the piece is really lost? My brothers used to take one piece so that at the end they could be the one to finish the puzzle. =)

  5. February 1, 2011 5:02 pm

    wow, those are totally amazing!!!! if you go through my school notebooks now all along the sides have doodles, and me and my friend once took a piece of graft paper and colored each one a different color. we were bored. lol.

    • jenmarie permalink*
      February 1, 2011 10:03 pm

      Thanks =) That’s cool, it takes forever to fill in all the squares huh? I had no idea it would take so long lol.

  6. zaza permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:04 pm

    You’re such a great doodler, Jen! I agree with becka =)

    You should totally make a book “collection” of all your doodles and sell it (crazier stuff has been sold/bought). you know becka would be first in line…hahaha

  7. Becka permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:10 pm

    Oh man, I TOTALLY would. 🙂

Leave a Reply

