Skip to content

Lost photos =(

January 10, 2011

One of the most disappointing things that can happen to a vacationer is for them to lose their vacation photos.

And I’d never experienced that until this last trip, when I lost almost a whole day’s worth of photos. I didn’t discover this, though, until weeks after I’d been back and couldn’t find photos I was looking for. Then I remembered, my camera battery had died on the first day and for some reason I wasn’t carrying my spare battery with me at the time. So when we went back to the hotel, I uploaded my pics to my laptop and put in my spare battery for when we would head back out after dinner.

After dinner we went to the Wailing Wall and the Rabbinical Tunnels and I snapped picture after picture. When we got back to the hotel, I wanted all my pictures merged into the same file so that I could keep them straight after we got back. I cringe as I write this, but I labeled the new photos the same as the previous batch, thinking they would merge, and instead they just overwrote the previous file, never asking me if that’s what I wanted. But I didn’t realize this until weeks later.

And my heart sank. But at the time I couldn’t remember what all we had done on the day I lost the photos, since I wasn’t sure which ones were missing.

Until last night when I was trying to fall asleep. For some reason it just hit me. I knew which photos I’d lost, and my heart sank even more. We had done SO much that day. Visited the Garden Tomb, Golgotha, the Garden of Gethsemane, the Pools of Bethesda, the Eastern Gate, the Mount of Olives, the whited sepulchres, the House of Caiaphas, the Via Dolorosa, and seen the Dome of the Rock, to name a few things. I was devastated, I had lost ALL of those photos. And then I had a thought that maybe I had put some of those pictures on my blog, so I had to get up and check and sure enough, I found about 11 pictures from that day. A far cry from the hundreds that I had taken, but I am so thankful that at least I have these few pictures. I really, really would love to have all those pictures back, and am wishing I had put more on the blog that day, but at least I have these.

Another reason to blog while traveling I suppose. Of course not making stupid mistakes in the first place would be even better, hopefully I won’t ever do that again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 9:29 am

    Sorry to hear that you lost some photos. Memory cards go bad and photos get deleted from time to time and it’s an unfortunate situation. There are a few programs you can use to get photos back though. They key is to not continue using the bad memory card… the photos may still be there, just unreadable by your camera or computer. Once you get home you can use a photo recovery program to get the lost pictures back.

    • jenmarie permalink*
      February 23, 2011 1:06 pm

      The memory card didn’t go bad, I uploaded them from the memory card and deleted them. Then on my computer I overwrote the files. But thanks though =)

Leave a Reply

