Skip to content

First portrait session, ever!

December 22, 2010

I’m so excited! I’ve long adored Picasa, but the ever-rut-loving side of me never ventured out beyond the few tasks I used it for. Until today! You can learn the most useful things from real bloggers (that would be in contrast to people such as myself who could never, ever commit to blogging about useful things and on a regular basis at that) and today I learned how to create collages via Picasa. Not that you will ever notice any collages on this blog. Because it’s not like I ever go overboard when it comes to new things. Ever. The first collage I created was the header of this blog, because somehow those are the photos it chose when I clicked “collage.” And never one to argue with another’s choices, I went with it. So there you have it, four basically identical photos of myself. Just beautiful. Enjoy it while you can, because you can bet they won’t be staying there!

Okay, but on to the real point of this post. And that would be, a few days after I got back from Israel I headed over to Upland to take family photos for some friends. I had never, ever done portraits of any kind before. (Ha, my “specialty” is vacation pics 😉 ) So I was kind of excited to try, and kind of terrified that I would wreck their Christmas pictures. They had asked me a few weeks prior, and had been duly warned that I am the least qualified person to do their pictures, but I was game to try at least. And we had a lot of fun. Ashlynn, who is normally the happiest baby I know, made it even more of a challenge for me by mostly refusing to smile. But she’s a doll and we still got some good shots.

I’ve known Clinton and Maureen for practically forever, and as we were at the park I had to smile at memories of going through junior high and high school with Clinton. Who knew we’d all survive high school and live to be adults? =) (Well, they are. I get to still be a big kid!)

Here’s a few of the many pics we took that day. Surprise, a collage!

Click to enlarge

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    December 22, 2010 9:19 am

    Nice collage – thanks for the tutorial. 🙂

  2. Jay permalink
    December 24, 2010 11:15 am

    Nice job. Ashlynn really is super smiley. Maybe she’s already camera shy.

Leave a Reply

