Skip to content

Dec 21, being the day Jen decided to be Queen.

December 21, 2010

Being 26 is great. I love it. But it also bothers me a bit.  When I look at how old I have gotten (where has time gone?), it’s not so much my impending old age that bothers me. Really.

It’s not even the thought of wrinkles that bothers me. Ahhh (okay, maybe just slightly). But what does bother me, as I ponder this new stage of life, is when I look back at all the things I thought I would have accomplished by now. My goals certainly were not realistic, or even based on reality, for the most part, but still I idealistically thought that I could just will them to happen. Ahhhh, to be a bright-eyed and optimistic college student again. Didn’t we all think that we would be the ones to go out and change the world, somehow? I don’t think I even knew WHAT I wanted to change, just that I would change it. Ha!

Actually, for the most part I really have accomplished what I wanted to. (Aside from the dramatically lucrative career. =) ) And I was perfectly content with the way life was going, until I read Queen Noor’s autobiography, Leap of Faith, and realized that by the age of 26 Lisa Halaby had already married the King of Jordan and become Queen Noor. And then I realized what my life is missing. A KING! I’m 26. And I have yet to have some King come knocking on my door. I am getting waaaay behind the game here. I didn’t even realize, till I read her book, that I wanted to marry a King. But can you imagine? Queen Jen. I like it. Or perhaps I’d take a new name, like Queen Noor did. Hmmm….I’m open to ideas, so feel free to suggest names. And then anytime you saw my name splashed all over the tabloids you could have the satisfaction of thinking, “I picked that name.” Queen Adelaide the Magnificent  fits quite nicely, I think. Although it’s kinda long. But it’s better than “Noor,” don’t you think?

I wonder what country I should rule? Someplace in Europe, I’m sure. I don’t think I’d mind living in one of those castles, really. And you could all come visit me, of course. (Most Queens or First Ladies pick some noble cause to back… My cause would be PARTIES. Every week.  And you, all 3 of you faithful readers, get the first invites. Just for reading my blog! See, you knew it would pay off someday, right?)

And to think that one of my bucket list items was to “buy a house or condo someday.” Condo, psh.

Actually, now that I am giving this serious thought, kings are a bit hard to come by here in Azusa. That could be a problem.  And I had just finally decided what I want. Life always manages to find a way to come burst your idealistic bubbles. Thanks a lot, life.

Well at any rate, I need to be prepared, in case Azusa decides to start electing kings instead of mayors. (Hey, stranger things have happened!.. Probably)

And I think the first thing would be to trash all the pictures of boys on my desk. Ooooh, Jen has pictures  of boys on her desk! I’m telllllling! Yeah, I do. One is a handsome blond in an Air Force uniform, and one is another blond in a suit and tie. Annnnd, they would be my brothers. (But hey, he probably wouldn’t know that so we’ll help him out a little) People used to think the Air Force boy was my boyfriend or husband. Until I tried to nip that in the bud and brought in a photo of yet another brother. And then people thought I had a husband AND a boyfriend. So I brought in a photo of my little cousin….Okay, you can see where this is going, right? So I finally realized, Jen, you just can’t win. Loser. You only have so much office space, and it’s starting to look like Picture People in here. And people are whispering to visitors “Stay away from the redhead in office 205, she’s a little OCD about people’s photographs. If you aren’t careful she’ll be putting your picture up on her wall. We all try and avoid her. Especially when the camera is out. She also used to send pathetically long and cringe-worthy emails to all her friends, yeah, she’s one of THOSE people.” So now, instead, I have old calendar photos plastered everywhere and people think I am moonlighting as a travel agent. While I’m still at work.

Merry Christmas, All, I’m off to clean off my desk!

*Random fact for today. Queen Victoria had to ask Prince Albert to marry her, because he wasn’t allowed to ask her since she was a Queen. I know you all were wondering so…now you know!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:47 pm

    Oh, thou Queen Adelaide the Magnificent, will you be so kind as to invite me to your castle for a holiday?

    • jenmarie permalink*
      December 21, 2010 2:52 pm

      Oh certainly, thou fair Metropolitan Maiden 😉 Wait! I don’t have a castle picked out yet. Decisions, decisions. Let’s just say we meet up for a weekend in London instead, shall we?
      Hey, that sounds vaguely familiar. Have I suggested that before??? 😉

  2. Becka permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:59 pm

    I’m afraid that does sound mightily familiar. Perhaps we could pick out a castle together? Of course, I would need to ask my place of employment for a holiday first.

    • jenmarie permalink*
      December 21, 2010 3:01 pm

      Hahaha, well didn’t your coworkers just read this? So they already know! Just ask them! =) Actually, I’ll ask them. Can Rebekah have a nice European holiday with her bestest redheaded friend? Pretty please?
      Pass that along to them. I think that’s why they gave you a bonus, btw, they WANTED you to come! 😉

  3. Becka permalink
    December 21, 2010 3:13 pm

    Hahaha – my coworkers didn’t exactly give me the bonus, but I guess that kind of works. lol 🙂

  4. Cheryl D. permalink
    December 21, 2010 3:57 pm

    Also, Calvin wrote the Institutes at 26 (the first edition), an act for which he is still famous. No pressure or anything.

    • jenmarie permalink*
      December 21, 2010 4:22 pm

      Ahhhhh, 26 just got really overwhelming! I haven’t become a Queen and I haven’t written any Institutes (any edition).
      And I never signed up for any of this either! All I ever wanted to be was a kid! What happened?

Leave a Reply

