Skip to content

Our Hanukkah Tree

December 19, 2010

Usually this time of year I am home with a cold or flu or whatever sickness has been being passed around the office or church. But not this year! This year I managed to escape both the cold and the flu (although I don’t know anyone else who has them either, so perhaps I’m not as lucky as I think and it’s just not going around this year) But I am still at home. With some mystery illness that I am calling “Should not have brushed your teeth with the hotel water.” Haven’t heard of that illness before? I hadn’t either, exactly, but…I had been properly warned NOT to brush my teeth with any tap water in Egypt, but do you know how unnatural it is to brush your teeth with bottled water? I mean, even when I did remember to carry a bottle of water into the bathroom, along with my toothbrush, I still turned on the tap water to brush my teeth. It’s just not natural to brush your teeth with bottled water! So twice I forgot and started to brush my teeth with the water from the sink, and twice I remembered halfway through and finished with bottled water. But apparently the damage had already been done. Whatever creepy crawly things were in the water, I think are now in my stomach, and the thought grosses me out beyond belief.

Okay…so we aren’t going to dwell on that thought any longer.

Moving along to Christmas! Or…Hanukkah. (Please tell me I am not the only one who has to look up that spelling each year. Because seriously…I always forget and add too many ns or not enough ks or something) Seeing as we just came back from Israel, it was only fitting that we decorated our “Christmas” tree for “Hanukkah.” Right? No? Well, perhaps we did it subconsciously but we ended up going with a blue and silver theme and I think it’s gorgeous, Hanukkah or no.

And speaking of Israel, it’s always encouraging to get back from a country and read an article like this one. Of course, not that it’s super surprising considering the region, but still…Maybe I should be happy that all I picked up over there were creepy crawlies and not knife wounds…

So we’ve been back for almost two weeks and guess what I found myself doing the other day? Looking at (and drooling over) vacations to Costa Rica and Iceland. Oh goodness. I’m hopeless. Although these vacations were really good deals! How is it that I never get these good deals? I always find amazing vacations at stunning prices and I always say I am going to book one, but somehow I always end up with vacations that cost triple the good deals I find. Something is wrong here…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Aleassa permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:47 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, it probably isn’t creepy crawlies in your tummy, just chemicals in their water that your system isn’t used to. They would get sick on our water. Hope you feel better soon! Have a very Merry Christmas…errrr, Hannukah? Hanukah? Hannikah? lol

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    December 19, 2010 8:14 pm

    That’s true….at least it sounds much better! Although…I’d be surprised if they treat their water with ANYTHING over there! lol. They can’t even pick up their trash… πŸ˜‰ But with how much trash I saw clogging their rivers, I sure hope they treat their water!
    Merry Christmas to you too!

    • Aleassa permalink
      December 22, 2010 12:24 pm

      ooookay, that’s just gross! They probably are creepy crawlies then!!! lol

  3. Becka permalink
    December 20, 2010 9:22 am

    Ewww…. Creepy Crawlies – those can’t be passed on through the internet, can they? πŸ˜‰

  4. Antonia permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:09 pm

    I like the tree – ours is blue and silver as well!

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    December 21, 2010 3:06 pm

    Yep, Beck, now you have them too!!! =)
    Thanks Tonia!! I’ll have to come see it!!!!!!! Seriously! I’ll call you =)

  6. Becka permalink
    December 21, 2010 3:13 pm

    AAAhhhhhhhh!!!

Leave a Reply

