Skip to content

Take THAT Mr. Bedouin!

December 13, 2010

While in Petra a week or so ago, our guide pointed out a guy who was selling books that his mother had written (not our guide’s mother, the guy’s mother) , as well as jewelry and such, at a little stand up in the rocks. The title of the book was “Married to a Bedouin” and it tells the story of this 20-something from New Zealand who took a weeklong trip to Jordan with a girlfriend back in the 60s or 70s (I forget), and ended up falling in love with one of the Bedouins she met there! Can you say CRAZY???? There was a newspaper article pinned up in the little stand and it was quite interesting to read! I can’t even imagine marrying someone whose language I didn’t speak (it took her a few years to learn it), and then spending most of the rest of my life living in a CAVE. A Cave. In Petra. Petra’s pretty amazing, but being a modernized, Westernized person, I cannot fathom wanting to LIVE there. Unless of course I was madly in love. Then throwing caution and common sense to the wind would be perfectly normal (gag).

Anyways…I say all that to say that I wanted to buy the book. But at 24.00 for a softcover book…I thought it a bit pricey. So I whipped out the old standby. Bartering. Annnnnd, that was a no go. What? Does this guy not know that he is in Jordan of all countries? How can you expect me to pay full price for something when the only thing I have had to pay full price for was a bottle of Coke. Make that double full price. I offered $20.00 and he said that it was a set price.

So you know what I did? Just to show him? I didn’t even order the book from Amazon, where he might possibly get a percentage of the sale. NOPE! I just got it through Interlibrary Loan. Take THAT Mr. I-Won’t-Barter-With-You-Bedouin-Boy. Ouch.

Ha. Okay, but really, I can’t wait to read it. Personally I think the woman is slightly off her rocker…I’m all for adventure but…I think she took it a bit far. But we shall see.

And while I was on the website I also grabbed a few other Middle East reads*. I’ve read plenty of the “Not Without My Daughter” types of books over the years (Fascinating and SCARY! Be very very careful who you marry, girls 😉 ) but now with having traveled over there (kinda) I can’t wait to get these books. Penciling reading time on the calendar right now!

*Leap of faith : memoirs of an unexpected life / Queen Noor.

*Live from Jordan : letters home from my journey through the Middle East / Benjamin Orbach.

*Green sands : my five years in the Saudi desert / Martha Kirk.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    December 13, 2010 2:41 pm

    Tell me if it’s good and I might have to go the free route and read it too!

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    December 13, 2010 2:43 pm

    Yeah, I totally will. Can’t wait to read it!

  3. Cheryl D. permalink
    December 13, 2010 3:13 pm

    Oh, you’ve read “Not Without My Daughter”?! I’ve read it and found it sad, but it’s also poignant to me in another way. Mom had just finished reading it last time I saw her alive, and I borrowed it and said I’d send it back to her later. I read it but didn’t get a chance to return it, because two weeks after that last visit I returned for her funeral. (I kept the book.) What a spooky last mother/daughter sharing.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    December 13, 2010 3:30 pm

    Oh that is sad. =( Yeah I read the sequel too (For the Love of a Child, I believe is the title)
    There are some other ones too that are similar. (The Princess Sultana books. I forget the author’s name.) Those books fascinate me but they are also very sad. They make me appreciate being an American!

Leave a Reply

