Skip to content

We’re back!! =)

December 7, 2010

YAY for being back in America! We got to New York about an hour or so ago. So happy to see signs in English, and prices in US dollars, and familiar restaurants. When we walked outside though, we were SHOCKED at how cold it was…until we remembered that we were not in LA yet, but in NY! And the JFK airport? Confusing! I have flown into many airports, but I have never seen one as confusing as this one. So far half of our group has made it to our connecting gate, by using two separate routes, and we are assuming the rest of them are lost. Seriously, it’s been crazy getting to our next gate! Everyone has commented on how confusing it is. At least we have a few hours till our next flight, hopefully everyone will make it here by then. Anyways…getting OUT of Egypt was a nightmare too. Seriously I have never gone through so many security checkpoints before. Welcome to the Middle East, I guess.  We probably showed our passport ten different times just to get to our gate. And no one was friendly. Of course, we later realized that Gary was wearing his Israel hat the whole time, so that probably didn’t endear us to them. I was never so happy to be out of an airport and onto a plane!
Now we are just sitting here, waiting for Starbucks to open (not many coffee/breakfast choices in this terminal. Boo, I wanted Cinnabon!) and watching American news! Yay for English. Oh, and listening to Christmas music. I feel like December/Christmas has snuck up on  me! When I left it was just beginning to be Thanksgiving, and now it’s Christmas time almost? Yay though, that will be fun! I love this time of year! So I wasn’t really prepared for Christmas carols, it seems too early since I missed Thanksgiving but ok…
So many of our group have gotten sick on this trip. =( I feel so bad for them because I know how miserable it is to be sick in another country! You just want to be HOME and in your own bed. I’m hoping/praying I don’t get sick too, since I’ve been around them so much, and rooming with them!
Okay, well I think I’ll go see if Starbucks is open now. Oh, people just walked by with drinks so they must be. Bye!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    December 8, 2010 7:53 am

    Your trip sounds like it was so fun! 🙂

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    December 9, 2010 10:54 am

    Yay, it WAS! It was amazing! =)

Leave a Reply

