Skip to content

Petra, Jordan

December 3, 2010

Today we went down into Petra. The entrance to where you start the hike down to the Siq and ultimately into the city center (in front of the Treasury and beyond) is not far from our hotel. I believe our guide said that the city of Petra has something like 26,000 inhabitants, and 72 hotels. And that tourism is Jordan’s number one industry. I had no idea. But I definitely recommend Petra! I think it’s one of the most (if not the most) amazing things I have ever seen in my life. I was completely blown away all along the way into the city, and then when you enter and see the huge, impressive Treasury standing right in front of you, it’s just breathtaking.The children in Petra all want to sell you either jewelry or postcards. They will follow you everywhere! Even if you tell them you aren’t interested, or that you already bought something and don’t need another one. I had climbed up into the rocks to take some pictures, and I turned around and right behind me was one of the girls, trying to still sell me necklaces. They are so cute to talk to, but you can’t get away from them. Especially once you buy something. It was so funny to see ladies in our group continuing to buy things all along the way, even after they already bought items. It’s no wonder they continued to follow us, they knew no one could continually resist their cute faces and pleas. Vera kept asking them why they weren’t in school, and then told them they needed to go to school so they could come to America and get an education and then sell real estate, lol.Anyways, today has been quite the amazing adventure. I took so many pictures. I could have spent all day in there. Although it was pretty windy and the sand kept blowing. Some of the ladies in our group bought scarves to wear around their faces. It’s no wonder the Bedouins wear the things they do. Living out in the desert  like that…Oh, I rode a camel today! Yay. That was fun and kinda scary. When they stand up and sit back down again, you are at such an angle it feels like you are going to fall off!Okay, well I need to run. Tomorrow, EARLY, we are headed back to Jerusalem for one more day and then off to Egypt. We still need to go to Masada and the Qumran caves, and the Dead Sea in Israel (plus more too I think). So here’s hoping that crossing the border back into Israel doesn’t take as long as getting into Jordan did.

*I have hundreds of photos but that takes way too long, so here’s a few below. Enjoy =)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    December 3, 2010 10:25 am

    Come to America and sell real estate….LOL!

  2. Jay permalink
    December 4, 2010 12:15 am

    Wow, Petra rocks!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    December 5, 2010 10:29 am

    lol Jay. It was completely unbelievable and gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

