Skip to content

Yesterday’s post =)

December 2, 2010

*Wrote this last night, never was able to get internet to work. But NOW…now it is working! We just got back from Petra (well, we are staying IN Petra actually, but I mean from the rock fortress part that all the tourists go to) anyways, I will hopefully post about that later. For now…I’ll post this and some pics below.

Yay I am so excited, I think I have free internet down at reception. If I’m going to have to walk all the way down to reception, at least the internet is free. Or at least I think it is. The guy at reception said it was…so we’ll see….I’m sitting here in my room writing this right now, but no wireless in the rooms. Wow, this trip has been AMAZING! I didn’t have internet the past two days and now it’s all running together a bit, so I might get things mixed up as far as when we did them, but I’m sure you don’t care anyways.The past two days we stayed right by the Sea of Galilee (so cool to do my devotions there in the morning!) at a kibbutz! (I didn’t really know much about them, but our guide explained it to us. VERY interesting. As Vera said, “In America we call that a cult.” I’ll save time here and not explain it, but look it up on wikipedia sometime.)Last night we did a boat ride on the Sea of Galilee at sunset. It was so beautiful!! There was a small group from South Africa on the boat with us as well. They are touring for 80 days as part of a Global Challenge group. It was nice to get to know them and we teased that perhaps we’d run into each other again at Cairo since they are headed back there now to see the pyramids and we are headed there soon too.The boat captain played the American national anthem, the Philippines national anthem and the South African national anthem. That got everyone all excited. Today we went to Jerash, in Jordan, and then Mt. Nebo. Now we are  in Petra and tomorrow we will head into the rock fortress area. Can’t wait for that. Getting into Jordan was quite the experience. Harder than getting into Israel! We had to go through all kinds of security, get our eyes scanned, and thumbprints taken, and a tourist policeman has to travel on our bus with us while we are here. Not sure why, but he’s here. It’s so funny though, all the kids in Israel and Jordan so far have been so happy to see us. They all wave and smile. In Israel we walked by a large group of school kids and they would turn and say, “Hello Americans!” And “How are you?” I think they liked practicing their English with us. Everyone is happy when they find out we are Americans. At the Jordanian border as I was passing through the last checkpoint, two of the men there (not sure their title but they were in uniform) asked me if I was from America and then said “Very good, we are friends.” Everyone is like that around here. Haha, courtesy of a busboy at lunch on Sunday, I now have a million photos of myself all around Yad HaShmona. I will put some up here later. I asked him if I was allowed to go outside to take pics (since the doors were closed and we weren’t sure how to open them) he said yes, so I went. But I couldn’t get the door open, so he said “Here” and opened it. Then he said “I show you, very beautiful place, you take pictures.” So I followed him, thinking he was going to show me where this beautiful place was. And then we keep walking and walking till we get to an ancient winepress and olive press. Then he took my camera from me! And told me, “Go stand there.” And then he told me to go another place. And another. I have SO  many pictures of myself! It was so funny. I kept trying to say thank you and get it back, but he just kept taking pictures. And asking if I was from America. Ha. Anyways, I will show you my personal portfolio later.Okay, it’s getting late here, so I will just upload a bunch of pictures, label them and head to bed. Enjoy!Update: So I get down here and surprise, the internet isn’t working. A guy is off supposedly trying to fix it for us but…yeah, we know how that goes. I think he just disappeared. Well….at least Delta has free wi-fi so maybe I will post this on the flight home. =) Only on the flight from NY to LA. Wi-fi doesn’t work “across the pond” as the flight attendant told me.

Pictures

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:19 am

    lol Can’t wait to see all those pictures from the impromtu (and a little unwanted) photo-op. Fun stuff. 🙂 I’m really enjoying reading about your trip like this!

  2. Jay permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:57 pm

    Pure awesome-ness.

  3. Antonia permalink
    December 3, 2010 5:20 pm

    Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

