Skip to content

We’re here!

November 26, 2010

**This post was written last night, but due to how their internet pricing works, long story short I am posting this at about 7 AM on Saturday. We’re getting ready to go eat breakfast and then off to sightsee. Hopefully I can post again tonight and then who knows when I’ll get a chance again.

** Heard the Muslim call to prayer twice now from our hotel. I would think the Jews here would hate hearing that all the time…Also saw Jews observing (celebrating?) Shabbat (sp?) at dinner last night. Everyone in the restaurant was staring at them. That was interesting to watch/listen to though. Okay, I’m going to – hopefully – add a few random pics from our trip at the bottom of this post and then I’m off to eat! =)

Okay, we’ll see if this works! I was so happy when I saw online that our hotel had free wi-fi! And then I get here and they say no, it’s $9.00 an hour. Grrrr….So…you won’t be getting inundated with blog updates, apparently. I’m sitting here in our hotel room, and the room is still spinning. I feel like I’m still on the airplane and I’m also STARVING! We have half an hour till dinner and so I thought I’d update you all!

We ended up spending our 4.5 hours at JFK instead of trying to get to Manhattan. We walked around for exercise and then Vera had the great idea of sampling everything at the duty free store, so we went and freshened up our  makeup with the testers! And now we will all probably break out with some sort of rash from doing so but….it was fun.
Our second flight was loooong….but the happy part was that the flight wasn’t full so several of us were able to spread out and get a little more room! I was able to get two seats by themselves and sorta kinda lie down and sleep. These two guys in rows next to me got 4 seats each and were able to completely lie down! Lucky! But at least I didn’t have to sit upright the whole time. Very very thankful!
That second flight was also extremely bumpy. Lots and lots of turbulence! Made for an interesting flight.Oh, and customs was a breeze! Totally not at all what I was expecting. The only questions I was asked were why I came to Israel and how long I was staying here. Although the guy didn’t seem very happy when I mentioned that I was also going to Jordan and Egypt. When I said that, he just shoved my passport back at me and didn’t say another word. At least my laptop didn’t get taken.
We got in to Tel Aviv a few hours ago and after a short drive are now hanging out at our hotel, waiting for dinner. I think some people are planning to go across the street to the Orthodox Quarter (or something like that) after dinner. I think those people are the ones who got great sleep on the plane, ha! I definitely can’t wait to jump in the shower and then head to bed! Full day tomorrow.
We haven’t done much yet in the way of touring, so no exciting update. We had a temporary guide who brought us from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem, but we will get a new one tomorrow. I hope he is as good as the one we just had, Samuel, because he was great. He’s a Christian Jew too. (I don’t think they call themselves Christians per se, but he says he believes in Jesus just like we do, for 22 years now, as he put it) Okay, well, that’s all for now. Who knows when I will post again – 3 of our hotels said they had free wi-fi on their websites, but who knows now….

Vera pretending to be Filipino

Trying on makeup at the duty free store

After we had touched up our makeup a bit =)

In the middle of the Ben Gurion airport – I don’t know if you can see it, but there is water dripping from the center of the ceiling, kinda like a reverse fountain I guess. Kinda cool

Welcome to Israel, yay, and guess we didn’t need the flash here…

Random sights along the way to Jerusalem

Everything here is like a sandstone color. Even as we were flying in, you could see that everything was the same color

Our hotel. Oh, and speaking of olives. Black olives here posing as American black olives…not so yummy.

This is for you, Jay. Ember found a random cooking show while looking for the weather. Check out those awesome eyebrows. Oh and…he was apparently showing how to make…pancakes. Because that’s important.

Pics

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 12:05 pm

    Looks like you are going to have fun! 🙂 Looking forward to posts and pics when you get home unless the other hotels weren’t lying!

  2. Becka permalink
    November 29, 2010 9:50 am

    Loved the pics! Yay. I’ve waited a long time for these. Hahaha. So far, your trips looks fun. Hope you got lots of rest. 🙂

  3. Jay permalink
    November 29, 2010 10:23 pm

    Ember with the cooking show find! Kosher pancakes, I’m assuming.

Leave a Reply

