Skip to content

Little Camera’s Big Day Out

November 13, 2010

Last night I got a new camera and decided to spend today showing it around town.

First stop was the Glendale Galleria. Didn’t spend much time there since we wanted to be outside, so off to the Americana at Brand. And I have to confess, not only was this Camera’s first time there, it was mine as well. I know, I know, but it’s true. I’m just not a “mall person” anymore. All malls do is drain my pockets and leave me with closets full of clothes I end up giving away. And don’t tell me I can just walk the mall and look. Because I can’t. Seriously. Last time I went somewhere, vowing only to buy one shirt (or $20.00 whichever came first, ha!), somehow when I left, my receipt said I spent $200.00. Huh, I have no idea how that happened! So, no, I can’t. (And if you cut 15 $200.00 shopping trips out of your year, you have enough to take a nice vacation to Europe, just saying.)

We walked around the Americana…stopping to show Camera the huge Christmas tree

And the elevator that is supposed to look like the Eiffel Tower. Huh. [head tilt] Yeah, I don’t think it looks like the Eiffel Tower either but…I guess for a 30 minute drive and free parking you take what you can get. Sorry Camera, you get a really fake looking Eiffel Tower. I won’t tell you that Camera #1 got to see the real thing. You might get jealous. Take what you get and be happy.

And the naked gold man serving a water volleyball

And the pretty chandelier hanging in the middle of the street by the farmer’s market

And the cute baby camel at the petting zoo. I wanted Camera to get a sneak preview so that he wasn’t overwhelmed when we get to Egypt. Baby camels are a bit smaller, and so fuzzy and cute looking.

Baby Camel watching the cars go by

Camera needed a bit of a break after his overwhelming introduction to California life. So he slept while we ate a yummy lunch at the Cheesecake Factory. I adore their Crusted Chicken Romano but I can’t show you a picture because 1) Camera was sleeping and 2) you would definitely run right out and order it, and I can’t have you all eating up all the Crusted Chicken Romano in this world, because what would I eat then? So, sorry.

Camera continued sleeping while we made our way over to Pinkberry for Camera’s grandma to try some frozen yogurt. (My mom doesn’t know yet that she’s a grandmother. She always hints that she wants grandkids but I’m not so sure she’d be thrilled with a camera for a grandson. Sorry, Camera, but we have to keep it a secret for now.)

Then over to Beard Papa’s to buy some cream puffs for Grandpa all of us to try. I will show you a picture of those, since I don’t mind if you run right out and buy them all up. I’m not a fan of cream puffs, but these were yummy. But I really don’t mind if you buy them all. Really.

Sorry for the blurry-ish picture, but I really don’t feel like taking another one. The chocolate ones with strawberry filling? Pretty amazing.

Then we took Camera to go get a foot massage. Or, well, to watch. And to sleep again. Camera #1 made a guest appearance to capture Jen’s beautiful hairdo as her arm was being massaged. I could tell you that I just walked out of the house looking like this today. Or I could tell you that the lady that is digging her thumb into my arm had previously just run her hands over my face and back into my hair, multiple times, effectively transferring all the makeup from my face into my hair, and thus rendering my attempts to fix my hair this morning null and void. But if you are giving me a massage, I give you permission to make a complete mess of my makeup and hair. Really. It’s worth it. Especially when you are only charging me $20.00 for an hour. When I heard about this place last week, I was trying to decide if I was happy I had spent my whole life not knowing this place existed, because I really don’t want to know how much I would have spent these past 26 years. Or sad that I had missed out on $20.00 foot/arm/leg/back massages my entire life. Because really, you can’t beat the price. (The price is actually $15.00, but with a mandatory $5.00 tip it’s $20.00…) So of course we had to check it out. And even though the lady almost ripped our toes off, and I had to check later to see if she had actually drilled a hole in my back with her elbow (she hadn’t), I think it’s safe to say we’ll be back!

Then we finally took our sleepy little Camera home and put him to bed while we chased a squirrel around the yard and tried to shoot him with a BB gun admired how pretty he was. (He eats ALL the veggies in our garden so…he must go!)

Oh wait, sorry Camera, but there is a pretty sunset that you need to see. Your first sunset!

Camera agreed, it was a pretty sunset.

Goodnight sleepy Camera, I hope you enjoyed your first day out in the real world. Sweet dreams!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 8:44 pm

    Nice post… I am glad you had a good day and that your baby ummmm camera took lots of nice pictures!

  2. Becka permalink
    November 15, 2010 9:44 am

    Ooohh, new cameras seem like more fun than new babies. Of course, I wouldn’t know about the baby part. 🙂 Nice pictures!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    November 15, 2010 10:30 am

    Well…considering the fact that a baby across from us at lunch kept SCREAMING, all the while Camera slept nicely, I’d say Camera makes a better baby/lunch companion. (Okay, there are lots of other reasons I’d take Camera over a baby lol!)

  4. Jay permalink
    November 16, 2010 5:50 pm

    What kind of camera did you get?

    • jenmarie permalink*
      November 20, 2010 6:20 pm

      Oh nothing fancy. I have to learn how to use this one before I can get a really nice one, lol. It’s a Nikon Coolpix P100 (I think) =)

Leave a Reply

