Skip to content

A confession

October 19, 2010

I have a confession to make. It saddens me to have to admit this. But in the interest of full disclosure and transparency, I must.

While I have been spending the last few weeks/months staring mindlessly at the computer screen and tv screen, scrutinizing every pitch, every hit, of every Giants game, and secretly envying Renel Brooks-Moon and her fabulous job, I did not, in fact, start out life as a Giants fan.

Nope.

But it’s not my FAULT! I didn’t KNOW! No one TOLD me!

I suppose it wasn’t for lack of trying on my parents’ part. I think they took me to my first Giants game when I was merely a few months old. (Perhaps it was a Giants/Dodgers game, so maybe it was more their fault than I realized)

Anyhow, regardless of how it started, the fact remains that it did in fact start at some point in my early beginnings.

And “it”, my friends, is the fact that I was a Dodgers fan. Well, more specifically a Dodgers’ theme song fan*. I don’t think I was much of a baseball fan at the age of 3. But in all honesty, folks, I didn’t realize my parents were setting me up. I didn’t KNOW who the song belonged to.

But my parents let me listen to it. In fact, when it came on over the radio, they would call me to come listen (it remains a fact that I wanted them to call me, but that’s beside the point. The fact is that they were willing, if not eager, participants in this traitorness I was succumbing to)

And folks, if that isn’t child abuse, I don’t know what is. Letting a future Giants fan become friends with the Dodgers theme song? For shame!

 

* Seriously though, who doesn’t like singing along to words like “From Walla Walla Washington to Kalamazoo”?  It wasn’t my fault they had a cool song, really.

**My other favorite song was the team neutral “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.”

Oh and, GO GIANTS! Let’s win today, okay?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 12:29 pm

    i don’t think i can be friends with you anymore

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    October 19, 2010 12:48 pm

    Don’t do this to me, Ruth! I’m listening to the Giants’ pregame right now. The PREGAME. Who does that? Me, that’s who, the ever faithful Giants fan! (that has to count for something, right?) lol.
    GO GIANTS!!!!

    • jenmarie permalink*
      October 19, 2010 12:50 pm

      I just sang a rousing rendition of “Lights” here in the office. Just for you, Ruth. (okay, maybe I didn’t…)

  3. Becka permalink
    October 19, 2010 1:02 pm

    In all honesty, you liked the theme song for the Angels too…although that somehow works most of the time since they are in separate leagues, but still….

    But don’t worry, I’ll still be your friend. After all, we don’t hold our friends pasts against them – right?

    • jenmarie permalink*
      October 19, 2010 1:07 pm

      Oh, I kinda forgot about that song. Yeah, I liked that one too. But that was like when I was 19, lol. =)
      Okay, I guess we can still be friends. Even if you spent all our trip money on sweaters. HAHA, jk.
      Ahhhh, boooooo work, why do I have to sit at my desk when the game is on Fox. Actually, I think I feel a cold coming on. I better get home asap.
      See ya!

  4. Jay permalink
    October 20, 2010 7:36 pm

    Hey, what about the inspiring “San Diego Super Chargers” theme song? I put that right up there with the Hallelujah Chorus. You can go J.J.-style and just insert your own team.

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    October 21, 2010 9:07 pm

    lol I don’t remember the tune to San Diego Super Chargers =) Maybe I’ll have to talk to J.J. though and have him add the Giants to that song. =)

Leave a Reply

